You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Art Content creators have to help themselves! Proposing a collective work to get more visibility (And Steemarket Art Contest #3 - Submit your art and win 20SBD!)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I'd also like to mention that @roelandp is providing us an art space at Steemfest2 so if we have things to share there, it might be worth brainstorming about. @skapaneas has started the steemit-team chatroom for discussing possibilities for that art space. He has not been active there recently and I have been unable to reach him, but if you'd both like to join us it would be fun to throw some ideas around....

https://steemit.chat/group/steemit-team

EDIT: @arthuradamson I see you are not on SteemitChat by this screen name. If you are interested (rather going to SF2 or not), is there some other way to reach you?

Sort:  

Hi @everlove.
Glad to hear your thoughts on this.
I feel a new kind of Art guild has the potential to be quite revolutionary as way for artists to support each other, freeing up artists to be be more creative in a more honest way. This can then bring back the true spirit of what art is really about. The brilliant german art critic and philosopher Jan Verowert said;
"The art student creates art because they have no boundaries placed upon them. They have freedom to experiment without the constraints of a profit driven society. Then, when they leave full time education, they then start the process of trying to become "professional artists." I so agree with him. The pressure of trying to make a living and pay the bills can distort our intentions and motivations.
Art is not about selling, it´s about having something to say that´s worth telling.
Artists supporting artists in the spirit of artists simply creating honest art is something that is of great interest to me. A Guild set up with this spirit in mind could be revolutionary. Blockchain platforms such as Steemit can make this possible. As Steemit grows and the price of steem rises, the shared income could be huge free artist from this burden. And the wonderful thing about this is that no one single person would be able to control such a guild because it is decentralised. Art is changing and anyone who is open to new ideas or indeed has a vision of how art can evolve in this new decentralised world can benefit from it as well as being part of taking back the art world from the super rich elites. Art was never meant to be a status game. The super rich have in effect hijacked art and made it into a game only the rich can play. By doing this, in my opinion, they have contaminated the natural evolution of art. Rather like misguided genetic scientists tampering with human DNA instead letting nature take its course.
I will have a look at the SteemitChat and the Steemit-team chatroom. You can always contact me on Steemit as will be more or less checking in at least once a day now. I dont use "Busy" so much but I think it is possible to chat on there also?

A terrific reply @arthuradamson!!! I couldn't agree with you more. My uncle is one of the creative genius' for Macy's in NY. I remember him telling me when I was considering college for art that once art becomes a job it can change radically the way you engage it. I took that to heart and skipped the schooling to experiment with life. And oh how thankful I am that I didn't try to manipulate or control my expression, but let the free form of experience be my inspiration. I've never had to make a living making art, but just do art and if someone feels it and falls in love with it then I am grateful to share.

I don't quite understand the guild logistics, but I'm all about the cooperation, collaboration and support. Would love to know more about heading in that direction!

Glad you may join us in Steemit-team chatroom. How do I contact you on Steemit? Just comment on one of your posts?

Hi @everlove, thanks for the reply. Sound like you made the right decision about how you chose to create art. I believe that your way of looking and approaching art is more truthful/honest and the future. Things will not change easily though but they must if art is to play a part in the development of human consciousness. But there are practical boundaries to over come first. And that is financial security and stability. Once this is achieved then we go from there. This is what I am looking into. You can contact me on one of my posts or I have a few gmail accounts too. A common one I use is [email protected]. I check this every day. Thanks for the interest. I intend on looking into more detail of how a guild could work and then I will contact you on one of your posts or on Steemi-team chatroom when I get a chance to look into that. Laters...

I love exchanging with you @arthuradamson. Seems we have much in common!

I truly believe in, and live the saying "Do what you love and the money will come!" A passion driven life leads to abundance, health and well-being. We have been taught that it is the other way around, and there are few examples of how living a life based on love and inspiration is the real answer to "success"! We must first get in touch with what our true values are, re-define what we believe "success" to be, and then live every moment in alignment with those values as our true foundation. I can only imagine what a world full of inspired, genuine, passionate people would be like. Illness, depression, frustration, anger, anxiety and stress in general will disappear as we change the way we engage the world. OH what a dream!!!

At the @gardenofeden we are living that dream and engage our passion everyday toward building a better life for ourselves and for humanity. We are an example of such a life!!

I'm not really familiar with the concept of a guild, how it would work and what it's benefits are. I'm excited to hear more about this!

The Steemit-team chatroom is set up for a team of artists coming together to brainstorm ideas for sharing art at Steemfest2. You can private message me on SteemitChat under my screenname. I"m excited to hear where your discovery takes you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15