ArtExplosion - Surrealism - "TREASURY OF THE UNEXPECTED"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

~ ART EXPLOSION CONTEST ~
Hosted by one of our talented Steemian Artists @juliakponsford.

The theme this week is Surrealism.  A quote from Julia: 

"I want to see/read/listen to some crazy art. I want you to reach into the deepest part of your subconscious mind and pull out something strange and unusual!

Ok, so she asked for it and I'm taking this opportunity to give it to her!!

'TREASURY OF THE UN-EXPECTED"



This is a cover of a book I made as part of a collaboration for a group of artists here in Texas.  Inside this cover, I also created several pages in this altered book --which I will save for a later post-- to then be passed along to other artists so they could add their own personal touch.



A couple of emergency situations in the lives of a couple of the other artists took precedence over the collaboration, so we never made the exchange.  This book has been hidden away on my shelf for a few years, perhaps only seen by my children while I was making it.



When I saw Julia's invitation, this altered book sprang to mind, and I'm super excited to have the perfect venue for sharing this crazy, off the wall piece of art that I thought I would likely never share. YAYAYAY!!!



My criteria for a good piece of art is that it is made from recycled materials.  All parts of this book were something that someone else wanted to throw away.  The items used on the cover and bookmark are magazines, yarn, sequins, ribbons, trim, toy bones, and a broken woven bracelet.



I collaged all these images together and added more tidbits for a 3-d effect.



I haven't much gotten into skeletons and the darker side of art, but this just all came together in a sinister kind-of-way, and really set the tone for the strangeness of the other created images inside the book.



The original book was discarded, as was the glue and modge podge I used to seal the pages.  I made a tasseled bookmark  and a black fabric wrap to tie it in and keep the dust at bay -- of course those are recycled too.



I hope this was strange or unusual enough for you.  If not, there are many pages inside just waiting for another opportunity to show something from the "Treasury of the Unexpected".


GOOD LUCK TO ALL THE ENTRANTS.  
I'M GRATEFUL TO BE A PART OF THIS ARTIST'S COMMUNITY!


Thanks to @juliakponsford for letting me take something I made that really had no purpose, and now, like the materials it is made with, has a reason for life again!


Thank you for visiting my blog!



Sort:  

That is an explosion of art indeed!

Hahahaha--indeed it is!

OMG I can see ur creation for hours !!! Reestemed--->

I think you and I have some very similar tastes in art. I super love your stuff too @yusaymon. I appreciate your appreciation!

the best creativity i like it and upvote @verlove

Thanks @ghufranreza. Just flowing through whatever expresses itself. I appreciate your comment.

You are welcome. Follow me @everlove

I love altered books, I did one a few years ago as a gift and hoped to do a Collaborative one as well but nothing ever came of that for me either! This is really cool everlove thanks for showing us! Maybe now that you've pulled it off the shelf the Collab will come alive again 😀

I had a group of women a few years back and we lived within an hour from each other. We mailed our pieces to each other once a week, and got together every month and a half to share our finished pieces and have a brunch. I may make a post about that one day.

I have considered finding a group again to do some tangible art collaborations. Have any interest in getting into a physical collaboration @juliaksponsford?

Possibly, the only limitation is that Canada post charges an arm and a leg for shipping! Sending even a tiny package can cost 15$ and that's before the tracking /insurance. I envy your postal system! I can send paper only nothing heavy lol!

It does make for a long, drawn out process to do a collaboration from such a distance. It would definitely not be worth our energy to pay the system $15 to move our art around! I guess we'll just keep playing together in cyberspace!!! <3

If only we had a teleportation device it would be so much easier! I thought we would have those by now 😞 Is the next collaborativeartjourney starting soon?

Yes!!!! It will likely be tomorrow if I can sneak away from watering the garden!!! Teleportation would be ideal---I think we are our only limitation!!

wow best post from my best friend @everlove thats really amazing strange newly thing unique one 😍

It was a really fun one to make. I guess it would be fun to do the back cover too. Maybe I'll make a post about that tomorrow! Thanks for being here.

Nice Picture........////////

I'm not sure I would consider it nice, but it was fun and unusual for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33