You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Commissioned oil portrait "Swantje" (+ STEPS)

in #art6 years ago

So inspiring! I'm right at the start of learning how to oil paint and I really enjoyed seeing how you took it from the very first stages of the underpainting all the way through to being finished. I think the biggest thing I learned from your post is how much detail it is possible to bring into that first colour layer when you're layering in the shapes... I think I need to be following your lead and seeing this step as bringing the "zombie to life" - and then using the following stages to refine smaller shapes and colours.

It's a truly beautiful portrait, and I bet your client must be thrilled. Thanks for such a great post, and I'm really looking forward to following more of your painting posts on here now that I found you by following Curie to your page (congratulations on the vote by the way!)
E x

Sort:  

Happy you have found this post helpful @eveningart ! From time to time I will try to make more comprehensive posts with focus on different aspects of painting process so stay tuned!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47