My self portrait process.

in #art7 years ago

94421BDE-1F17-4C3D-9B26-59D02719238E.jpeg

I find myself to be the easiest person to paint, perhaps because I am so accustomed to seeing my facial features. Sometimes when Im painting a face just out of my imagination it somehow ends up looking like me. Anyway I was up late at night and suddenly had a vision of myself with my hand extended outward with a glowing seed of life hovering above it. The seed of life is a stage along the formation of the flower of life, which is the ultimate form of sacred geometry. It is like the blueprint of creation. It has so much significance in my life as I’ve had profound psychedelic experiences where I was able to see it and understand its inner workings.

I started this painting by first taking a reference photo of myself in a dark room with light coming from in front of me.

55B623FB-267E-48AB-9B7A-7BC6D02F3145.jpeg

I then proceeded to paint the canvas all black. I really enjoy painting this way because its kind of like working backwards. Bringing out the image from the darkness. It also helps with establishing shadows and darker areas like my hair.

After the black dries up I start to sketch myself out onto the canvas then painting in layers from dark to light. I only paint the more dominant areas that stand out to me and I fade the rest of my figure into the background.

0D74B9AD-8825-44D6-8900-7CF5CF3DF236.jpeg

EDFECA06-D47C-4562-BB95-3518E65F9BB1.jpeg

C35F87B4-6B62-470A-811C-9238A61BF5EA.jpeg

EA26E192-6562-49BE-AA34-334F75B25559.jpeg

30436BC9-5F38-4C93-A58B-B2CC9B45F63C.jpeg

These photos are from my snapchat by the way which you can feel free to add me on, I always post photos of the process behind my paintings and drawings. My snapchat username is MyVisionaryArt

But yes throught my process I added lines within my body representing wood/trees. I’ve always felt like our fingerprints are like the rings around a tree and they show how old our souls are. But thats just my personal philosophy.

Looking at this stage that I was in I began to see more of the vision come together and could see flowers around me and the full moon illuminating in the background with rainbow spectrums coming from it. So I started bringing that out as well. I also created a border around the entire image to give it a framed look and added some designs of eyes within those border lines.

9C15E4B1-8A25-48E2-A4FC-CF280A79F43E.jpeg

C55A7308-34CF-4CD8-8597-F7C6E10BBB60.jpeg

Next thing you know I had completed my self portrait. Ofcourse I can always add more and refine the details etc. Which I more than likely will but for now just seeing this image infront of me was fulfilling of the vision I saw in my minds eye. It took me two days to complete and was done using acrylic paint.

I hope you guys have enjoyed this sneak peek into my process! There will be much more similar content to come! Thank you for engaging with my post and as always I hope you have a beautiful moment wherever you may be, one love.

-Eddie Martinez
E T E R N O

Sort:  

Congratulations @eterno, this post is the sixth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 3300 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2026.90. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

This is so beautiful! Loved getting to see your creative process, you are very talented! 🙌💗✨

Nice work here man, good use of the dark space and i dig the geometrical layers you added over your face and hands. What're some of your major influences? What do you hope to accomplish with your art? Much appreciated, keep it up :)

Thank you! My major influence is nature. Learning the most I can directly from the source. I dont have any specific hopes of accomplishing something in specific, I just create art for the sake of reflecting on my self evolution. To see myself from the inside out and outside in. To understand my true nature as a human being in this realm that I am in.

really inspiring :)

Cool to witness your creative process! I hope you keep posting more! I will definitely be interested in seeing more!

Im glad you enjoyed it! I will definitely be posting more so keep an eye out!

Congratulations @eterno! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Wow! Awesome, so psychedelic! :)
I love it.
I just uploaded a picture by a friend who is great in psychedelic uv paintings..
If you're interested take a look :) I bet you'll like it
greets from germany

In love with the small details. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for sharing your talent and it's nice to see the progress of your art. It made me think of how when we meet people we only see what is before us (a cheerful person or mean, kind, grumpy, etc) but we don't know the process they've gone through to get where they are. Anyway, I enjoyed seeing not just the final piece but how you shaped it along the way.

Did they ever tell you that you look like Jesus?

It's beautiful, I wish I could paint like this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64