Introductions are in order

in #art4 years ago

So, this being my first post to Steemit, I figure I should introduce myself:

My name is Erik and I do art.

AvatarSquare.jpg
Yeah, this is me drawn by me - hello, nice to meet you

I am more than an artist though, since I find plenty of entertainment value in learning random stuff, so I dabble in plenty of things, from boardgames to philosophy (ask me about the Tao Te Ching or Stoicism if that's your thing). I am a geek extraordinaire (and proud of it), so of course I love talking science, math, books, comics, videogames, food science and whatnot.

Why Steemit?

At this point its an old story right? I used to hang around on Instagram , but Instagram's algorithm is crazy.
If you don't

  • post a ton of times everyday...
  • post videos, stories, reels...
  • use a cryptic amount of hashtags...
  • jump on one foot 3 times as you sing a tune praising facebook...
    and
  • sacrifice a chicken to the elder gods...

your post will only be shown to something like 5 people in the span of 4 days. I mean... My work is not being shown to the people who explicitly said they wanted to see what I draw by following me, it sure is not being shown to new people...

And then there is the policy on how they deal with artistic nudity: at best you can expect to be shadowbanned, at worst your account gets closed without prior warning (It's happened to me once). I do my fair share of figure drawing so of course its a concern.

Doing social media can be a lot of work, so yeah... I had to find a different outlet to showcase my creative pursuits. Enter Steemit.

What can you expect of this account?

I think its fair to say that you can expect art out of an artist's account. I'll post WIP shots, photos of my sketchbook, finished drawings and the ocasional timelapse video.

I love drawing with lines though,so I'll be posting lots of this:

02.jpg

and a bit of this:

02.jpg

Only lineart?

Well I sometimes get playful and work with other mediums like watercolors, inkwashes (like my self portrait at the top of this post), oil pastels or graphite:

Mariosrota.jpg

or fire up Krita to go digital:

halloween.jpg

Schedule?

I am not planning on following one for now... I mean, I am mostly trying out this network, but hopefully some of you will want to stick around and comment and stuff whenever I post.

I'll try to post a couple times a week at least.

Where can you find me? (you know, other than here)

Instagram: @erosaerik
My website: Arte divergente
My email: [email protected]

Want to hire me? Commission a drawing? Do a collaborative piece? Toss a coin to your artist?

Sure! I love drawing for others. Just let me know and we'll talk about it.

What now?

I'm hoping I'll find a bunch of liked minded individuals here, and a thriving artist community or at the very least others who'll enjoy my squiggles. Please do leave comments, critiques and whatnot on my posts.

See you around, everyone

Sort:  

Bienvenido a Steemit

@tipu curate

Muchas gracias!

Veo que hay una comunidad en español bastante activa por acá también. Eso es una sorpresa agradable.

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 64750.39
ETH 3148.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58