We ripped off Carl Barks

in #art7 years ago

This is Carl Barks, one of the most celebrated Donald Duck drawers, and maybe comic artists of all time.
carl-barks.jpeg
He's a legend.

His most famous story is probably "Lost in the Andes" from 1949.
lost in the andes.jpg

In this story, Donald and his nephews discover the "square people" and their land in the Andes. Everything in this place has the form of a cube. The eggs, for instance.
lost in the andes2.jpg

I've grown up with this story, and I always find it very fascinating. I had to do something with it.
So I took this one page from the story: (Page 12)
![utgangspunktet.jpg]
()
...And erased off the heads and the text like this:
utgangspunktet-ny.png
And started to send it around to friends and other people, just to see what they could get out off that one page.

After a while, people started to send me really weird stuff. I got surprised of how many different interpretations you could get from the exact same starting point. I decided to make a book out of it, a book with only one page, page twelve.
I'll post a little extract from the book here:
donaldboka.jpg
Forside-ny.png
This is the cover I designed, by simply putting all the responses over each other.

Henrik-Nordahl-ny.png
Henrik Nordahl
Ylva-Greni-Gulbrandsen-ny.png
Ylva Greni Guldbrandsen
Øistein-Bergli-2.png
Øistein Bergli
Viktor-Gjøvåg-Khoury.png
Viktor Gjøvåg Khoury
Ylva-Greni-Gulbrandsen-2.png
Ylva Greni Guldbrandsen
Tim-Ng-Tvedt-ny.png
Tim Ng Tvedt
Saralinn-Hembre-ny.png
Saralinn Hembre
Herman-Breda-Enkerud-ny.png
Herman Breda Enkerud
Audun-Lønning-Gjerdi-ny.png
Audun Lønning Gjerdi
alan-mackenzie-robinson-ny.png
Alan Mackenzie Robinson
Audun-Lønning-Gjerdi-3-ny.png
Audun Lønning Gjerdi
Audun-Lønning-Gjerdi-2-ny.png
Audun Lønning Gjerdi
thor.jpg
My steemit friend @Rohtie

Thanks for reading this, and have a nice day.

And if you haven't read "Lost in the Andes", I would highly recommend it.
http://home.earthlink.net/~copaceticcomicsco/CBL1-Lostinthe%20Andes.html

-Erlend

Sort:  

Such a wonderful article deserving to be resteemed! 🌈 I miss reading comics. Might hit the fleamarket soon :) Thanks for the inspiration

It was an interesting project! I'm looking forward to the next massive collaboration zine :)

An excellent collaborative project. Why not try something similar on Steemit? We love collaboration! 😃

Thank you! That's a good idea, I'll think about it.

Very cool and interesting - og så på norsk!

Jeg håber at der kommer mere af den slags, så jeg følger dig nu.

Takk! Jeg vurderer å jobbe med Storm P. i neste prosjekt.

Fedt! det glæder jeg mig til.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40