Bamboo brush and ink landscape!

in #art7 years ago

The final piece:
IMG_2438.jpg

Hello Steemit! I'm currently on vacation so I haven't had much opportunity to post my art, but I thought today I'd share one of my favorite painting techniques!

240px-MtHood_from_JonsrudViewpt.jpg
When doing landscapes, you can easily freehand them or use a reference for more exact paintings. For this painting I decided to use my backyard view as my model and sit outside and enjoy the fresh air while painting!

05418-group-3ww-l.jpg
21101-group1-2ww-m.jpg
When using ink and bamboo brushes, you need to have your paper flat on a table or else the ink will just drip down the page. I used this set of brushes and indian ink bought from Blick Art in Portland, Oregon. Bamboo brushes are great because they retain ink in the brush! One thing to remember is to hold the brush perpendicular to the paper, instead of at an angle like a normal pencil. This way the ink falls from the bristles onto the paper.
great-master-orchid-and-bamboo-brush-3_26.jpg

For landscapes, it is best to start with the background first and work your way forward. Also, I tend to have the farthest part of the painting be lighter, while the foreground is darker and more detailed.

To do this, I used 3 containers to pour my ink in. Each container had the same amount of ink, but I added a tablespoon of water to the 2nd container and 2 tablespoons of water to the 3rd. This way I had 3 shades of ink to work with! I started with the lightest shade and mainly used that color for the far background. The darkest color, the straight ink, was used for the foreground to get all the details in the trees.

IMG_2438.jpg
I let the shades dry between each layer so the paper didn't soak through and went in at the end with more straight black ink to add any more details.
Unfortunately I don't have many pictures of the process but if anyone would like a tutorial video let me know!

Thank you for reading! ~

~emily-rose

also here is a link to my previous post; how I built a paintbrush sculpture!
https://steemit.com/art/@emily-rose/my-sculpture-of-a-painting-made-from-paintbrushes

Sort:  

wow, amazing art

Thanks, I appreciate it!

So impressive! Thanks for describing your process! :) You are really amazing!

Thank you, thank you!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nickh725 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Congratulations @emily-rose! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53622.13
ETH 2208.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29