Lasers, the bubonic plague, and the bird men

in #art6 years ago

So, in my first post, i mentioned that i was often messing around with laser cutting and 3d printing. Today, i just briefly wanted to show off one of the things i have laser cut. A lot of people believes that you can only cut or engrave flat objects like cardboard or wood sheet, but i am here to show otherwise :)
22068779_10155634559684361_42784788_o (1).jpg

Here you can see a mask i made from leather. It is meant to resemble a plague doctor mask, that i am making for a DND costume. For those who don’t know, the plague doctor were hired in an attempt to slow down the progress of the bubonic plague. They were typically hired by the cities, and went around visiting the victims, doing a bunch of weird experiments in an attempt to cure them. Of course, this didn’t work at all. The “Doctors” were often not doctors at all, as the city would hire anyone willing to take the job.
Anyhow, the doctors wore a suit made mostly of waxed leather, as it was believed that this would repel the plague. They also wore a beaked mask, which they filled with aromatic items like vinegar or lavender, as some believed that the plague was caused by “Bad air”.

Below you can find a few of the pieces before being sewn. As it is an old project, i unfortunately do not have too many pictures of the project.
21931096_10155620172569361_2104954763_o.jpg
IMG_20171203_212934.jpg

I made the mask out of recycled leather, which i scrapped from an old couch that i found in the rain. I would like it to have been black leather, but i’m a student, and beggars can’t be choosers. So for now, this is only a proof of concept, as i wanted to test out how well the leather cut on a laser cutter. The eyes are made from laser cut acrylics, and the pieces have been saddle stitched together by hand (Stabbed myself in the hand while doing this, which is not to be recommended). In the future, i want to iterate on it further, as i would like it to have a slimmer, more crooked beak, but that will be for version 2.0.
For now, this has been a very nice first project. If any of you want to laser cut leather yourselves, you should cover the surface with painters tape, as this help make a cleaner cut. Also, you should wash the edges with water, as they otherwise will smell like burned flesh (Quite literally).

have a great day people :)
Emil

Sort:  

Perhaps it would be possible to dye it?

In any case, it would probably make a good welding mask, if you could get some appropriately tinted goggles for the eyes.

It is certainly possible to dye it :) Just couldn't afford dye at that point, so i would rather wait untill the second iteration and try again.
I'm sure i could make a welders mask out of it, as long as i find the proper glass. Although you might want to make the beak a tad shorter :)

@emilclaudell, don't worry about it. If you keep up producing these interesting subjects, you can afford dye for many more experiments :)

And welcome to Steemit!

I have some seriously awesome things I want to talk to you about.

Let me get back to you to give you my idea. I need to talk it over with someone I haven't yet been able to reach. That's awesome though. I be back....

You say that you are making that for a DND costume (like dungeon and dragons?) Awesome! I do not know much about leather but I will definitely use your blog to learn! As for your comment about the plague doctor stuff, that was my interest throughout all of school so I did a few projects based around that subject! Welcome to Steemit by the way!

Eyyyyy hi there :D
Yeah, i'm making it for a DND session... Or rather, i was playing a plague doctor in a DND session, and i used it as an excuse to make a costume ;) I have always been a bit obsessed with plague doctors, i find them quite fascinating.
I am learning about leather work as well, this was the second leather project i had made. I'm still not very good, i even stabbed myself in the hand while making this. But it was definitively fun doing.

I'm considering my next post atm, i think i will 3d print some Christmas ornaments, i'm not sure how many people have experience with 3d printing on this platform :) Maybe i should even print some steem coins ;)

3d Printing has its own following, definitely check it out. And that is cool that you did DND, I haven't found many people on here (although I haven't been searching) that play DND. I wish you luck with your leather work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99