Yes I have discovered Performance

in #art8 years ago

From about 2010 performance has come into my life to stay. The topic has fascinated me from the very start. It has given an artist a possibility to come out of their studio and to interact with his audience. It has taken away the loneliness of being an artist and created a joint experience.

( Artist Elya May. 2012. Performance Aleph)

Performance and happening has established it self as an art form only in the 20 century through such movements as Futurism, Dada, Russian Constructivism and Fluxus, it has been a part of human cultural and social life for centuries, manifesting it self through various rituals and religious events. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Performance_art) I would like to share some of my own experience with various forms of performance art.

( Artist Elya May. 2012. Performance Black and White)

What is a performance?- a beautiful art form. An interaction with the viewer not something theatrical, but something real. It is crossing the border the observer becomes the performer. From 2010 onwards I have fallen in love with performing. I have created and taking part in different performances I have done or been involved with over last years.


(Artist Elya May. 2013. 100 Artists. Image copy right Thomas Bröse.)

Being a performer has allowed me to work with painting, dance, sound and other mediums sometimes simultaneously. It has allowed me to become a multi-faceted artist not being locked into just one form of art. It was really a freedom that i have found through performance art.


(Artist Elya May. 2014 Artist Group Project Septette on Sheets )

I will talk about all various performances that I was part of in the future posts.


( Artist Elya May performance the Cage 2014 - Soma gallery)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66222.18
ETH 3310.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70