Trying Steemit Art School : My Homework !

in #art6 years ago

I'm from an animation background so the subject of pure art was never taught to us. So, I'm testing out this Art School exercise by @beekart! I had certainly considered going to an art school at some point in time, but reconsidered after discussing it with my family. Art wasn't a really a subject the education system in Malaysia puts time and money into, (DESPITE HOW MUCH TALENT WE HAVE HERE-) and it's a shame, really. But thankfully, things are being re-considered here!

Anyway, this seemed like an interesting exercise, where we have to understand and draw 'negative space', so I'm gonna try it out!

cover.jpg

Our first homework is drawing the images given in negative space :

CHAIR EXERCISE

For the chair exercise, I had 2 drawings. The first one I like because of the balance in black and white, but I wasn't sure if it was following the negative space rules, so I made another one!

Chairs_1.jpg
Chairs_2.jpg

POSE EXERCISE

I really like drawing a woman's body, especially their curves and thiccness. The sketches in my phone consists of girls and cats XD It would be filled with male bodies as well but sadly I'm very bad at that part. But its very interesting how the human body works! And drawing it in negative, you can certainly see where you went wrong :o The following drawings were made many many times...

PoseCompare_2.jpg

PoseCompare_1.jpg

HAND EXERCISE

Our next exercise is to draw our hand from life in negative space in at least 3 different poses.
Hands_reference.jpg
Hands.jpg

I hope I'm doing things right here, I have 0 experience in this field but Im so excited to try it out!
How was your weekends, guys? snore Mine was pretty slow, but I managed to go to the beach yesterday hehe. You guys should take some time off before 2018 comes. Goodluck on the Monday blues!

Sort:  

Hey there @ellyn-suraya what an awesome way to start the first week of art-school!
Happy you are joining in! Nice to meet you!

The drawings on the hands are really great! Please don't stop doing them after just 4 :) (same goes for the blind contours of the figures) the more you do them the better you get at it and the more fun it becomes!

If you really want to challenge yourself with the blind contours, try to do them with as little as possible lines. ( I remember when I was really going hard on these exercises there was a point where i could look at the screen, start on the paper without looking at the paper draw the whole outline of the figure and end up in the spot where I started.. even weird was it that when i would hold up the paper next to the screen it was exactly the same size.. crazy right?!) you can do that too! It is just a skill and it all comes down to practice! :)

You clearly show a great work effort which i really appreciate!
I hope you keep doing these exercises ( have fun with them!) and ofcourse join in on the art school for the upcoming weeks!

If you do more 'homework' feel free to let me know if you are looking for feedback! :)

Cheers! Merry Xmas! ;)

Wow!! You can draw the figures with just one look? :O That does sound crazy!! Is it really possible? How many times did you practice before you could unlock this skill?

And thanks for the feedback, I really appreciate it ^^
Looking forward to more 'homework' !

Hey ellyn! Yeah when i was doing these kind of studies on a daily basis i could do them without looking at the paper :D

I hope you just keep having fun with these practices.. i have done maybe 150/200 of those blind contours when i started :D

wow... 150 drawings... that sounds kinda achievable for me? XD Maybe in like, a month or so hahaha

Sounds like a long a tedious process... did you ever use live references for it?

Woa! Steemit art school! That is really cool n.n I hope you do well :D I don't understand negative space, I will give it a google xD

^^ you should give it a look see here, they gave an explanation on what it is with a video as well (sadly the video didn't work for me...) --> https://steemit.com/artschool/@beekart/art-school-week-1-negative-space

You can see the video on YouTube here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NCv8UuvxNK8

Weldone dear. You are hardworking.

Turned out really well... hope to see more of your art school posts as this goes forward.

haha thank you, looking forward to more homework next week ^^

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ellyn-suraya to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I like that character!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97