A Passion for Lacquer

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Hello to all Steemites.... I am a Bristol based ceramic artist who has a passion for painting with lacquers onto ceramics. 

Intro...................

I first developed my idea of working with stains, dyes and lacquers on to ceramics at Loughborough and the Royal College of Art and Design. My work has been exhibited at the British Crafts Centre, Museums and "Artist Potters Now", Oxfordshire County Museum Services & Sotheby’s, where I was invited to exhibit my work in a touring exhibition of contempory ceramics.  

"Richard Ellam already shows great maturity particularly in the casual way in which he breaks the rules of of ceramics, using methods of manufacture drawn from other fields of the applied arts. He shares the relaxed attitudes of many of his contempories. Free of the claustrophobia of potters working only ten years ago, who were hemmed in by the sense that there was only one tradition that could be followed, Ellam seems to possess an almost instinctive sense of history, which he draws upon freely." - Artist Potters Now

The Journey................

The experience and knowledge that I have had gained over the years working with so many new and different processes, techniques and materials has enabled me develop new ways of applying stains, dyes and lacquers on to ceramic forms. This is my own personal adventure and many thanks to those that have collected my work and made it possible for me to develop and continue my ideas. 

It's all about Now...................

I am currently busy creating sculptural forms, which I call my sculpted canvases. Where effectively the lacquer painting on the surface of the object becomes the object. As if sculpted from marble, granite or a semi precious stone. My work is mostly about creating illusionary depth and texture, inspired by our electric universe. Materials speak for themselves, we just manage them. 

Artists want to learn........................

As artists we are all familiar with the limitations of our chosen medium. Breaking boundaries is what it's all about as we all try to improve on using the materials that we have to work with. I have done a lot of experimentation with lacquer finishes, so now I also teach my skills here in not so sunny Bristol. I guess that is what explains my autumn colours. 

Vote up.............................

Help me share my idea by voting up guys and gals. I am not sure whether Steemit allows for updates on posts, but for all those who are interested I will keep you updated with my lacquerwork. 

This is my passion and a great adventure - Namaste



Sort:  

Stunning!

well written :) thanks for this post! perhaps u find some art that u like on my channel! i followed you! keep it on <3 kalipo

Cheers bud. This is all new to me. How do we put a profile pic up. It makes sense knowing who we are talking to? All the best

That's extraordinary - do please post some more. I'm following.

ThanX Alex. I most certainly will when I understand how this site works. It's all new to me and I am trying to work out whether I can update posts with new pictures of my work or whether it's best to submit a new story. I'll get there. Cheers

Truly amazing! I'll look forward to seeing more of your laquer work. I love seeing a photo of you at work and have upvoted. Welcome to Steemit!

If you feel you're not getting the upvotes you'd like, edit this post to add what's called a "validation photo." You take a selfie holding a piece of paper that says your name, the date and "Steemit". I know it's weird and kind of a pain, but something like that is tricky to fake, so it tells the community here that this post was really made by you and not someone who has stolen your photos of your website to make money off pretending to be you. It's not necessary to do, but will increase the number of upvotes for your early posts, especially. One day, we'll have a better technique for this. Apologies for being quirky at this stage. :)

ThanX ever so much for that word up pulpably. Just had a cider and just about to do lunch, so not a good time for a selfie :) Great tip, so I will sort that tomorrow. This is all new to me but I can still learn. All the best

What a perfect attitude. Yes. There will be more to learn but lunch and cider come first. Nice to meet you. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60637.64
ETH 2405.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60