The Phoenix

in #art6 years ago (edited)

fenix.jpg

So here is a phoenix pouring fire all over the landscape!

This started with me just doodling absently minded with a flat brush in Gimp using a very colourful fractal and magically, after smudging the whole canvas several times the bird shape emerged from the colours as if it had been there all the time waiting to be uncovered...

I'm trying to restrict my use of colour to less and less each piece so I can get a better grasp of light and shadows.

Screenshot - 07062018 - 09:13:23 PM.png

As usually created with Sterling2 and Gimp.

This is my entry to the contest by @isaria.



Artwork by @elisea, all rights reserved.


❤ If you like my work, vote & follow. All support is much appreciated. ❤

qr-code (29).png

ETH: 0xc810f58cf48bb5ea8594829ec568d1f50f08a2b0



QR Code generated in QRCode-Monkey.



Thank You!



Sort:  

This pulled my eye straight to it as I was scrolling down my feed... The intense colours are offset nicely by the way you used smudging to create the shapes, and I love your process... Letting your subconscious guide your hand until "suddenly a wild phoenix appears!" =)

Thanks! I'm using my subconscious more and more, i get better results when i don't go in with a predefined idea. I'm also trying to use less and less color variety because I feel I mess up when I use many colors. This one was done quite quickly. I was so surprised! I've been fiddling with some pieces for weeks now and still haven't finish them, lol :)

Hehehehehe, don't worry, I can relate. We artists who use fractals get both sides of the spectrum when it comes to frustration and luck. And yeah... With colours, I'm also slowly learning that sometimes, less is more. This really came out stunning! ... I think I might just try out the smudge tool a bit too ;)

Yeah, I have been a little frustrated with fractals lately, sometimes I get a spree of really interesting pieces but other times it's an endless spree of bad luck. But smudging can turn the not so nice into something quite different and interesting. I can't live without it, I use it for almost anything now. :)

Greetings @elisea! Your post was chosen at random and was resteemed because you are one of our followers. Enjoy your free resteem!

If you wish to stop receiving this comment, please do unfollow us.

By upvoting this notification, you're supporting @Shareables.

Shareables - We resteem anything we find shareable. Always strive for quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

God bless from us @Shareables!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68423.64
ETH 2659.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71