Sort:  

Flagbots have hidden this post. Not cool at all. How does this help curation?

I'm kind of new, what does that mean?

The Steemians with the heaviest voting weight (whales) are bickering over reward distribution, and whose with the least (minnows) are caught in the crossfire.

Who will survive if the minnows get chased away?

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.93 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 13 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Upvoted and resteemed in an effort to rectify downvote abuse.

I'm trying to understand what you mean because I'm kinda new and most of these rules are confusing to me still. What happened?

It's a bit hard to explain if you don't understand the Steem ecosystem. I'm not sure I entirely understand it myself, but here goes:

There are a few Steem users who hold a massively disproportionate voting power due to early adoption of the system. Some of these users have decided that all "whales" should stop using their voting power, and allow those of us with less power to have more control over reward distribution. As such, a few crusading whales have decided to downvote whatever the other whales upvote, resulting in chaos. Your post is a casualty of this dispute.

I hope @GoodGuyGreg (my sock puppet account) and I have helped reverse this by bringing more exposure to this post.

Thanks (both for explaining and trying to help). I'm not gonna lie, this drama is making me start to have doubts about steemit but I'll give it time to sort itself out before I decide to pack up and leave. I'll probably just post a little less for now.

@jacobtothe this is a pretty good explanation.

@elementm I think people who will stick to Steem will be greatly rewarded in the long run. Glad to have you with us.

We survived @asshole's flag-spamming campaign. We'll survive this too. Everyone is still experimenting, and Steemit is still in beta.

I'll keep all of that in mind. I want Steemit to succeed (it helped inspire me to start making art again) and it's got a lot of potential.

up voted and followed

Thank you :)

I've upvoted and now following you too.
I wrote a post about the idiot idea of an experiment. Of course you have no idea what's going on but all I can say, with as much heart as I can, Welcome to Steemit. We're not all idiots. A bulk of us actually care about the community.

Thank you, I appreciate the support. I'm hoping that when the smoke clears Steemit will be the kind of place where this doesn't happen anymore. I'd like to stick around.

Definitely stick around. Once you get past the horse manure, we've actually got a robust COMMUNITY. The trick is finding quality people. I highly recommend the 3 Cs: Content - COMMENTS - Curation. The rest will eventually settle down.

Nice flower, I like it. :)
I hope you don't mind the flag experiment. Steemit is an awesome place and you will love the community if you stay longer. :D

Thank you :) I think the part of the experiment that's hardest to deal with is not knowing the rules or that it's even taking place. I understand it a little bit better now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58111.37
ETH 2571.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47