Short Thoughts About Shifting Arts

in #art7 years ago (edited)

My friend had never held a pro camera. But his hands work wonders with a paint brush.
He says he loves painting to capture what he sees and how he sees it. He has his way of adding emotion to an element that may seem lifeless in the eyes of another. Isn't that how it goes with photography?
I told him to give it a try.
I'm not a photographer myself, but photos have a way of communicating to me in the same way as paintings and sculptures do. I thought it would be the same.
Art is a something I most appreciate. We pass by elements we see as “just ordinary”: autumn trees, rocky pavements, abandoned houses, wrinkly-eyed smiles, dusty cupboards. Yet art captures it in a way that tells the passing of time, nurtured relationships, advancement of technology, and life.
These are captured in tools like cameras and paint. These are printed on papers and canvass boards. It shouldn't be hard to shift from one medium to another, could it? But I've learned that art medium is like a language. Your thoughts communicate differently to a brush versus a camera. Arguably we see the same things, feel the same emotions, but we preceive and communicate it differently.
Oh, how I would love to see these things in an artist's spectacles. Perhaps I would realize it is no different than mine. I just needed to take time to pause and look around.
Or perhaps my art is in the form of conversations or writing.
But for my friend, he has his heart glued to his paintbrush. Not in a camera click.
Who was I to stop an artist?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63192.94
ETH 2476.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69