The New Me

in #art6 years ago (edited)

In order to become a successful model you have to start at 14, you have to be be tall because the industry will want to promote you on the runway. This kind of thinking although not untrue is just an obstacle for me to overcome. Art knows no boundaries and as an artist, if I wish to express myself with my body, there is no place for limitations.

Success comes in all shapes and sizes and with great endorsements come great restrictions in the way you are allowed to carry yourself. Without quitting my day job, I am going to explore the possibility of getting cast.

Life modeling jobs have been few and far between as I have never met the kind of respect I had in Montreal but that is largely due to the fact I had more availabilities to work for these drawing classes or open sessions. It is still a part of my identity, a part I struggle to express but I can rely on art classes to model for my participants in order to hone my skills. Yoga and dance also help me be 20 minute pose ready.

The toughest part of modeling occasionally is judgement, will I pick a pose I can hold? Will I get the shakes for trying to impress in order to be called back? I always give the best of myself but sometimes, I meet my limit sooner than expected. However, as occasional as the work has been, the feedback has been excellent. Perhaps the balls of energy I visualize in mid air have been helping. Thank you life energy!

I actually modeled nude for my students when I was a brand new teacher but I noticed transference is very different on the West Coast. I took the idea of modeling for my student from a teacher from Quebec who had hired me, the ideology there is quite close to Europe regarding nudity. It’s in the way we are raised really.

2AED2AB2-CB17-4D75-8976-34AAD4EBF9BC.jpeg

Working to attain this level of confidence as well as this level of physical fitness took years. I wasn’t born with a silver spoon in my mouth, I had other fish to fry than to build my Instagram up at 14, hell the damn thing didn’t even exist yet! Now, I am determined to make a dent in media so I’ll just have to give it a whirl. Working with my good friend B. Samson from Talentosa Productions is a great start. He’s the one who took the photo above which I later tweaked.

I love working for community centers but at this point, the fitness classes don’t pay well enough to prevent me from getting subs to fill in while I diversify my resume.

I’m hot, that much is true but with nudity, I want to do more than boudoir photography. Inspired by my good friend Grace Fournier, I want to see if I can be political while letting the work speak for itself.

I am a feminist, such a feminist. Without my armor, you see me as I am, with my big Caravagioesque eyes looking into your soul. I am as I am, unafraid of what is to come, certain that we are too far gone to find our way back. It is the folly of Dionysus, the god of whine and festivities, followed by a procession of un-wholly priestesses. In those eyes, you see the fires of Beltane which in turn ignite the beast in each and every one of us.

But I digress, the time for manifestos is over, this is post-modernism, as uncompromising as it is fundamentally contemporary. So I live in the present, excited about the next opportunity to show what I am made of. In this existence, the body is borrowed and with it, so is the power. If there is a justice, it is that.

B0C02AD9-C994-4318-91BB-F638544D8BB1.jpeg

Sort:  

Your post has been manually curated by the Many Voices Project. The MV Project exists to promote diversity and difference on the blockchain. If you would like to support our work and that of our Founder @sapphic Please consider voting for her witness via steemconnect

Without quitting my day job, I am going to explore the possibility of getting cast.

I can feel your passion man! and i wish you success! 👍

Thanks a bunch I’m sure it’ll be great and also very fun.

I just wanted to thank you for creating really great content

And I to thank you for being there for me when I need you most.

I admire your tenacity. You are skilled in so many areas. I never had a silver spoon either yet there's always onward and upward, or the downward spiral, up to oneself to choose. Keep the dream alive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74