Drawing the Afghan Girl Tutorial

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello dearest followers,
I am happy to present to you my best drawing tutorial so far where I will be drawing the Afghan Girl. I will be talking as I draw in real time so you get to see how I work my hands at the beginning of a drawing and then, we will stagger between time-lapse and real time. I find that this formulae works well because to do it all real time would be too long but then when I slow down in a time-lapse bout, you get to see my drawing technique much better and at different stages of the drawing. I hope many of you will take the time to watch it! Let me know if you too find that it flows well.

6FCB28FE-7A73-4229-88C4-1D309A46B8E8.jpeg

I was pretty much talking the whole time, it’s hilarious to see my jaw running in time-lapse. I was happy to cut some of that talking out and cherry pick.

FF00033C-7B87-43F2-A172-65FB83BB8403.jpeg

Her name is Sharbat Gula and for most of her life she had no idea that she was famous all over the world. She was photographed in natural daylight at a refugee school in about a dozen poses. Gula's portrait was taken by National Geographic Society photographer Steve McCurry who had no idea who she was. He left the shoot with no contact information for her and she remained enigmatic from 1985 when the magazine was published to 2002 where she was found. There was a documentary about it called: Search for the Afghan Girl.
He took the famous photography on Kodachrome 64 color slide film, with a Nikon FM2 camera and Nikon 105mm Ai-S F2.5 lens.
Her eyes pierce the soul of the viewer and have served to humanize the cause of refugees in the Middle East. Her 2002 return to the public eye inspired Afghan Children's Fund, a charitable organization with the goal of educating Afghan children.

Thank you as always for being so encouraging. Keep drawing or making other kinds of art. But mostly drawing!!!

You can find my student’s take on this project here

Sort:  

Really great post @edouard, I really like seeing your drawing process. It's amazing how much I enjoy watching other artists work!

Thanks a bunch! It means a whole lot!

This is a great tutorial. upvoted your post but sorry my steem power is too low.

No worries, thanks for watching!

This post has received a 0.86 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @edouard.

I was familiar with the picture, but had no idea either who she was, or the story behind her picture. Thanks for the thorough info!

You were unfamiliar with her story and for a long time, she was unaware that she was a story! Thanks for your feedback, very encouraging!

That's dope looks just like her

That’s good to hear!

Wow! Looks like you might have been "curied" - well done!

Is that the one who discovered X-Rays?

lol - not quite. We're talking about @curie who come in with a whole bunch of votes for a good payout. It happened to me about 1 1/2 weeks ago. They don't always tell you either.

Thank you so much!

Very nice drawing, you have a gift, as all artists. My hobby is painting mandalas with acrylic, it is not that complex but it is relaxing. Thank you for your post and congratulations!IMG20180417173955.jpg

That is absolutely beautiful, thanks for sharing it. I think th black and white contrast complement the simple color palette to perfection, I also like how you put your work in a still life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82