My Process/Tutorial for painting over 3D Models

in #art7 years ago

Hello guys, Today I wanted to make a little tutorial to show you how I usually create paintings with heavy perspective and crazy stuff going on, here is the final result.

Design First

I decided to take the firsts days of the challenge to design everything that I need to do. I don't want to spend a lot of time rendering something with a bad design in it. I think that is the propper way to do it or maybe i'm just not that smart! hehe.

I read an article that was explaining the possible things that could happends to humanity and one of them is that our inmune system will get weaker and weaker with time because the more drugs we consume the weaker our inmune system will become.

Here is the article http://listverse.com/2012/11/26/top-10-possible-next-steps-in-human-evolution/ Facinating stuffs btw.

So in my future the world is ruled by pharmaceutical companies, humanity depend on them. Also I decided to combine this with pollution, pollution is another factor that is making humanity weaker and weaker that's why they need more and more drugs.

The first thing that I'm designing here is like a vending machine created by the pharmaceutical to provide protection just for 24H. basically, you enter and breath in a powerfull green gas that heals you and provide protection for 24H, 24H because the company wants your money and they want you keep comming back.

The design language of the pharmaceutical company is very stable, strong, perfectionist, "friendly", save so that's why I'm using a lot of squarish and rounded shapes for them. but there are hints of poison and danger in the design, look for the scorpion shape. I tried to add a lot of symbolism to the designs.

Before doing all of this I did a lot of research because I had not idea how to design stuff for sci fi and I found that Feng Zhu did recently a series of tutorials on how to design for sci fi here is the link for the part .

they did an amazing job btw.

I noticed that one of the hardest part of designing something is that you are not sure which option is the best, I think that it will only come with experience, what do you guys think? is there a way to improve your decision making?.

Early Designs Ideas

I wanted to get the shape languaje of the city, I wanted to create a contrast between the industrialized dirty and polluted city and the clean and balance design of the pharmaceutical company.

The shapes are way more sharp because I wanted to convey, Power, dangerous, force etc etc the top of the buildings are a little darker because of the mist and the pollution, I'm used yellow and blue because I wanted it to feel industrialized.

Designing is Hard

Everyone says in interviews and on youtube videos that concept art is about the design and the idea, and there are so little videos explaining how to design stuf! f it's a weird unteachable thing?

I know I know this looks like computer cases but I wanted to create a simple and powerfull design... I'm still not sure about the final design but I will keep working on it on the 3D phase, I needed to add some cylindrical shapes to make it look more like a factory.

3D Sketch

Because I had a clear idea in my head of what I wanted to do, I jumped intro 3D right away and started playing with different compositions, this is the one I liked the most.

Modeling and Light Direction

I ended up picking number 3 the light was more interesting for me, the modeling was part kitbash and part my own modeling.

Materials and Atmospheric perspective

At the time of making this painting I wanted to learn how to use vray render inside modo so I spent a lot of time watching tutorials and reading the manual hehe

Started painting in photoshop finally

You can see that the first thing that I changed is the background, the sky is VERY important for the painting, the sky tells you the color of the atmosphere of the scene, I always work on the sky first.
Also you can see that I started using photos and painting to add texture to the buildings, I was paying very close atention to the scale of the texture in this phase.

Texture overload

Because this scene is all about scale and showing the city, I wanted to spend a lot of time making sure that I got the city feeling right. To make the black building I actually went back to the 3D phase and changed the material of the building and re rendered it, I'm glad that I did that.

Final Result

I'm very happy about how this painting turned out, it was my first time making something this complex and I like the end result, sure there are things that could be better but sometime we just have to move on and create a new painting.

I hope that this was helpful, let me know in the comments.
Cheers! remember to follow my My Blog

Sort:  

Interesting work

Thank you nkkb!

These are awesome and beautiful
Love to see more of this.
Giving you an upvote with my little cent
Even if you trying for the first time, it looks like art from a professional
Keep steeming

Thank you Tormitwah, I will try to make more posts like this :)

Wow this is awesome ..Nice work dude..
resteemed

Oh wow thank you very much! I appreciated it :D

hola chee que haces akiii

Lo mismo que tu jaja

Nice, mate! I like how well the 3D is integrated!

Thanks Lires! the secret is to think about it as a linework 2.0 hehe

Fine rendering with fog athmosfere!

Thanks yurche :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64871.83
ETH 2536.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67