Apo Whang-Od The last Kalinga Tattoo artist - A pen sketch - dzued

in #art6 years ago

Good day every one !! Another good day and another cool artwork and article :) For today I will be sharing my artwork and a trivia of the last Kalinga tattoo artist in the Philippines.

APO WHANG-OD

IMG_4228.JPG

In the mountains of Busculan, Kalinga. Apo Whang-Od a great, legendary and the last tattoo artist of the Butbut tribe. Apo started her art in the last 80 years including the headhunters of her tribe.

This headhunters are the savior of the tribe, they protect their tribe and if they can kill an enemy they are tattooed so meaning if a headhunter has a lot of tattoo he have also killed many menemy

Usually Apo's designs are simple and meaningful he draws such as leaves , waves of a water and many different signs, and She uses coal for the ink and a plant torn to be her needle

Above is a simple sign of a moon

So if you want to visit the Philippines make sure to visit Kalinga and meet Apo to have your own personal tattoo :)

And here is the process of my drawing :)

First is sketching

20180517_133443.jpg

Sorry for the bad quality of photo I still need to save to buy a new phone and please help me T.T

Next is inking

20180517_133820.jpg

I ink first the eye since I feel like it would be easy if I started there

20180517_135316.jpg

At this phase I am almost done at the right cheek

20180517_143638.jpg

Above I am almost done with the whole face

20180517_150457.jpg

And I am done with the whole faced just to add the hair and hand shadows

And Im done !!!

IMG_4228.JPG

Im all done and I hope you like my work and if you like it follow me too see more of my work :)

Thank you everyone and follow me @dzued :)

Sort:  

Exclusive PROMO

Get 20 upvotes and 10 followers only for join the site.
The 20 upvotes worth 1SBD so why wait get it quickly before the campaign over.
CLICK HERE TO JOIN

Congratulations @dzued, your post have been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

If you would like to delegate to Best of PH you can do so by clicking on the following links.

100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65