The Identity Crisis of an Artist

in #art7 years ago

I've been on Steemit now for 2 weeks posting some of my artistic paths such as design, illustration, logo design, screen printing, video making and animation. I'm a bit scattered. My whole artistic life I've always moved from project to project. I've never been one of those artists that can focus all their time and energy into one discipline or style.

CyberHelmet III (2013)

CyberHelmet3_steemit.jpg

Over the past several years I've been developing my artist handle "Master Control Program" or the abbreviated "MCP." However the past few years I've been a bit better disciplined at crafting the real style I've been after in my mind's eye for the past 20+ years. The visual styles I've loved as a child. 70s/80s sci-fi and futurism. Cyberpunk and early 90s Virtual Reality. Art Deco. Reading OMNI and Heavy Metal magazine. Patrick Nagel and the airbush work of Pater Sato just to name a handful of influences.

CyberHelmet II (2013)

CyberHelmet2_steemit.jpg

The past few years when I had the extra time in between work, debt, life, and other projects I started to really hone into this style. I finally found the courage to stick to this one style under the MCP moniker and develop it. I illustrated several of these forward facing Cyber Lady Helmets over the next year for the purposes of getting the look and style down.

CyberHelmet I (2013)

CyberHelmet1_steemit.jpg

Hope you enjoyed these illustrated artworks


follow me @duanesworld

Sort:  

Wow!!!..this is amazing :)

wow my upvote is now worth 27 cents :D

That's amazing friend :)

Cool artwork. Reminds me of very 90s kind of music videos 😊. Good stuff @duanesworld upped

First helmet!

yeah it's my fav of the 3 also!!

I really like your style, the colors are awesome! I find it really hard to develop a style of mine own. Perhaps someday my style will find me ;) I guess it takes time, but unfortunately I don't have much time to draw/paint.

Anyway, thanks for sharing your lovely works!

That's really another world my MCP ^^^ style above. However Duane's World is the umbrella of everything else I do art and life style. So it's going to be all over the place, lol.

If you can make art in several areas in graphic design, you are known as a generalist. I myself am a generalist as well. I really like your art style, it gives me a cyber punk/ghost in the shell feel to it. Keep up the good work. The world needs more people like you. (^ω^)

So what you are saying is we are Generals :D Yes cyber punk/ghost in the shell are some of my influences. Thanks.

Really interesting work!

Very nice illustrations. I like to work across styles and mediums, it's fun to discover new ways of working!

I'm like that too but this is that one style that I have been thinking about for the past 20yrs and finally commited to it. I'm still all over the place as my blog will be showing lol

Very interesting soft colors))) Thanks)

yes I love the pastel colours. Especially with this style. :)

I haven't seen or heard the term 'Generalist' used before. Someone referred to artists who love to dabble in a variety of different mediums as 'Scanners.'

Can't imagine calling myself a 'Generalist' ~ Much less a 'General' ~ But perhaps preferable to 'Scanner.'

Love what you are doing @ duanesworld and can totally relate to skirting around something that has core value for you, for decades, until it starts to finally emerge. Different ways of working, different interests that you have, different techniques and styles, that you develop, can all begin to merge into something that becomes so totally unique to YOU.

Wow amezing stuff..!! @duanesworld

Followed and upvoted you..!!
Please follow me and check out my drawings give your feedback @prashanthak

Steem on!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99