"Ithaqa" Comic Update #7 Another Pencil!

in #art7 years ago

Ithaqa_Page_5.jpg

The splash page is starting to come together nicely. This story takes place in the fall so I'm hoping for some very bright colors here in the near future. The city of Ithaca is surrounded by a number of mountains and valleys covered in trees. This was something I always liked about the area, it felt hidden and protected.

The reasons why I love Ithaca however, are also the exact same reasons why H.P. Lovecraft would have hated it. He was especially afraid of New England type environments, trees, winding roads, and small towns all scared the shit out of him. He was also known to be both claustrophobic, and agoraphobic, meaning he must have been uncomfortable in just about any setting that wasn't a well organized room.

It's been fun and interesting, casting a city that I love, as a hotbed of horror and supernatural activity. I've had to write about things that normally comfort me in such a way as to inspire dread in others.

I also just started watching Twin Peaks last night, and I can't help but feel that this image is exactly like the intro to that series as well. Let the record state though, that I did not copy them, I wrote this months before watching haha.

Theresa Chiechi's (The Artist) website is here: http://www.theresachiechi.com/

If you want to stay up to date on the project please give me a follow, either here or on facebook or instagram (below).
FB: https://www.facebook.com/pg/IthaqaComic/about/?ref=page_internal
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ithaqacomic/

Sort:  

There is definitely a Twin Peaks feel there, but that's not a bad thing! I'm guessing you're just starting the original series and not the new continuation since you were unaware of the opening imagery?
I think you'll enjoy it. I only just watched it a few years ago myself, I should rewatch it soon before delving into the new material as it becomes available through more widespread sources.

I need to study some Lovecraft. I'm aware of his work but have not read any in depth and have no idea about his personal life. That claustrophobia/agoraphobia double whammy sounds like a real nightmare. I can see how the torment could spill over into his creations...

I think the brilliance of his work lies in the overarching narrative and themes more than the exact words and plots haha. A lot of his stories are "I'm a man of science, I don't believe in ____!" Then ____ slaps the man in the face and he's like "Hrm..that seemed a lot like an ___...but ____ don't exist..." Man realizes ____ exists, goes insane.

What I do love about his work is that he built a whole universe where aliens, gods, cults, zombies, and witches all believably exist in the same space, right under our noses.

He also was very much on point of the sheer size and lunacy of our universe for a guy writing sci fi in the 1920's.

This post has received a 0.34 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @drwatson.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76