"Ithaqa" Comic Book Update #113 Cop Drama!

in #art6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-01-03 at 9.25.09 PM.png

It's been interesting to me, to see how the character development breakdown goes for each issue. In "The Fool" Harvey and Chuck took up almost half of the pages. As I mentioned in a previous post it made them initially more compelling/fleshed out than the other characters who were all competing for page time.

Yet in this issue their share has gone down to around 30%. Initially I was worried that readers might be pissed at a diminished timeshare with our WW1 vets, but rest assured these few pages we get with them have some juicy twists and turns.

One of biggest reasons why I think I've been able to keep up the pace in writing this comic has been because of the multiple storylines I've been able to jump between whenever I feel like I need to transition scenes. The second a scene stagnates or resolves, I just jump to another set of characters.

It's really helped me continue to build steam throughout this process. A previous comic book I was writing, "Angel of the Greye" died in my hands as I realized there was only really one exciting story thread to follow, and I couldn't cut away from it. There were no overarching villains to drop in on, not really any side characters doing anything of interest. I began to feel like each transition was a jump cut in a movie.

A jump cut is a jarring (often mistake) that occurs when you cut out the middle part of a film shot, and so as your watching it the action changes abruptly, but the framing stays exactly the same. Anyway without multiple storylines to move between I felt like I was writing a series of jump cuts, and I had to put that project on hold.

Maybe someday I'll think of the solution to that problem, and you'll all get to see some pages for my spiritual fantasy epic I so badly wanted to finish.

The_Magician_Page_14.jpg

Theresa Chiechi's (The Artist @la-fumettista) website is here: http://www.theresachiechi.com/

Sign up for updates on our website: https://www.ithaqacomic.com/

FB: https://www.facebook.com/pg/IthaqaComic/about/?ref=page_internal
Twitter: @IthaqaComic
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ithaqacomic/

Sort:  

It’ll definitely be interesting to see how you handle the ensemble cast. I think the changing of focal characters from issue to issue is quite natural, like viewpoint chapters in a good novel.

Good to see another comic guy on here! I'm brand new to the site, and I plan to share some stuff I've done in the past, as well as new pages on a new project as I move forward. Was surprised to see that "comic" was not a normal tag for content.

Keep it up!

Welcome to steemit! I know a lot of people think you need to be writing about cryptocurrency to have any success on this site, but I've found that the artist community here is vibrant and extremely supportive. I gave you a follow so I can check your work out as it rolls in!

Appreciated - thanks!

Another good stuff! ♡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62829.19
ETH 3026.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61