Drawing: Chibi heads (Male and Female)

in #art6 years ago

Hello Steemians! I'm drawingwithflare.

image

I'm back and today, I tried drawing chibi characters. This one is just simple. It's just the head. I can't get the proportions correct whenever I try to make the body. So I'm stuck on the head.

20180511_201748.png

In this drawing, I used a 200gsm Vellum board, H, HB and 2b graphite pencils, 0.05 and 0.2 Uni pin pens, and Faber Castell watercolour pencils.

image

So first, I draw a kind of guide for the shape of the head. With a circle and a horizontal oval under it.

image

After that, I made the outline for the chin and I made sure that it will have a pretty chubby cheeks cause that's how chibis are made to be (I think)

image

And then, I made the hair and erased the guide lines. The hair resembles mine cause I can't think of any other hair styles.

image

And then I gave it some pretty thick eyebrows, big dot eyes and a cheeky smile.

image

Then, using the 0.2 fine liner, I outlined the head.

image

Then I used the 0.05 for the inner lines.

image

And then, I erased the sketch lines. In the process, I kinda smudged one of the eyes.

image

Then, I used the graphite pencils to get the strand effect for the hair.

image

And then, I smudged it a little to make it have a lighter tone.

image

After that, I picked two colours for the skin tone. A light peach and a walnut brown.

image

I coloured it with the peach lightly.

image

Then I used the same peach but I pressed on it a little more for the shadows.

image

Then I added more of it as an in between colour for a smooth transition and gradient.

image

And using the walnut brown, I kinda just made a thin line of it on the shaded parts. But mainly on the parts that the lights can't quite reach.

image

Then for the female, I still used the same technique. The circle and oval one.

image

And then made the lower half of the face. I gave it chubbier cheeks cause why not.

image

Then for the hair, I just gave it a shoulder length, straight hair.

image

I was contemplating on whether I keep the ears or not. But I decided to erase the ears completely.

image

Then I gave it a face. Yay. I made it to be a bit detailed. Giving it space for colour and such. Cause I kinda made it it to be my chibi art style. Guys get circle eyes, Girls get oval eyes.

image

Then I outlined it with the 0.2 fine liner.

image

I also traced the lines inside with the 0.05 fine liner.

image

And then, I erased the sketch lines.

image

After that, I used a black colour pencil to colour the hair. I also gave it a look with the strands and stuff and not just a plain colour.

image

Then I coloured her eyes with a gradient of brown. And also added highlights on it.

image

Then I did the same skin tone technique. I won't go into too much details cause it'll be redundant.

image

And that's them done. But the background it too plain.

image

So I went to the corner of the paper and made a rectangle.

image

And separated it in half.

image

For the background I'll be using a black Pentel marker, a Uni ball pen and a 0.2 Fine liner.

image

So I coloured the left side with the marker.

image

Then using the Uni ball, I made a simple pattern of a bunch of triangles that connect on each sides and point. It was supposed to be white but because of the marker, it looked bluish.

image

I did the same with the other side but instead, I used a black ink for the triangles. I also made it to where it connects in the middle.

image

And with some editing magic, I was able to make the chibi heads into a png file. Then I placed it on top of the background I made and Oh baby it looks quite fine.

20180511_201748.png

Sorry for the lack of content this past few weeks. It's the start of school so that shortened the work time I have, and I also procrastinated a lot. Last vacation, I was able to have a good amount of procrastination but still have time to make post since I have the whole day to myself. But now, 10 hours of that is devoted to school and I must say, it's quite tiring having to wake up early in the morning, walk to your next class and sit there. And you have to do it 5 times on 1 week. So it means I might be able to post a few a week. The schedule is definitely gonna be random. Sorry for that but that's just how it goes. I'm only a kid and I wanna have the time of my life. By listening to facts and myths on the internet. So Bye!

And it's also my OC. The female one is somebody.

To vote witness, simply visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" into the first search box for witnesses or simply click here to do it on one click!

If you want @surpassinggoogle to make witness voting decisions on your behalf, simply visit https://steemit.com/~witnessesand type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box for proxy.

Thank you so much! My name has been Flare and Bye!!!

videotogif_2018.06.03_00.47.38.gif
videotogif_2018.04.23_22.03.13.gif
drawingwithflare.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55011.75
ETH 2337.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34