Seedlings Growing and a new divider to share

in #art7 years ago

Here is divider/border I made to share with you inspired by my recent seedlings sprouting for Spring planting.

feb25seedlingdivider.jpg

This is a larger version but I will share the smaller scale version down below. I thought it might be a nice divider other homesteaders or gardeners or nature lovers might like to use in their posts. So feel free to use as you like.

I love gardening.

I love this time of year when Winter is fading and the rain and warmer temps makes everything start to bud. My seedlings are growing and giving me the green of Spring.
feb26seedlings1.jpg

I usually try to start most of my veg from seedlings. I am a little behind and so far only have my toms and cukes and melons started thus far.

Cukes and Melons:

feb26seedlings2.jpg

Toms:

feb26seedlings3.jpg

Here you can see the secondary leaves or the leaves of the actual mature plant are beginning to form on my cukes and melons. Once these show up I am usually happy as I know I am on the way to a healthy adult plant.

feb26seedlings5.jpg

I'm trying to start some wildflower and annual seed mixes early this year. These are the seed mixtures that are meant to be directly sewn but I am growing some out in pots to transplant and see how they take. A mixture of annual and perrenial flowers to attract butterflies and bees. Also a great Zinnia mix.

feb26seedlings4.jpg

I really love planning out my gardens each year. This time, late Feb early March, is always such an electric time. Suddenly trees begin to show bud, the grass gets a greener sheen and the garden centers and farm shops begin opening and I see Fruit trees and early shrubs out for sale. It really gets my excitement for Summer up.

feb26seedlingdivider.jpg

  • How do you get ready for Spring?

  • Do you start your own seeds early or wait and buy young plants or a combination of both?

  • Who orders or hatches new chicks this time of year?

feb26seedlingdivider.jpg

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

If you appreciate my work please feel free to upvote, resteem, and by all means comment.


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

This is so cute! Sprouts sprouts everywhere! Well, not where I live, not yet. It started snowing, yesterday, after three month of sunny winter. Farmers are on standby.
Also, my precious seed is waiting a bit longer to be tucked in the soft soil. I plant seed every spring, and each year it is a special day for me.

I haven't planted anything out of doors yet, as we can still get frost, But I always start some things ,like these, as early as January so that I have a good start for our Summer.

Now that you said that, well why not - I think I will try it. It is only in the kitchen that I have a bit of space for this. Let's see what will happen!

Let's see, get ready for spring? Run around like one of your chicken's at the last second? I've been trying to mow for two weeks now, but the weather just won't cooperate, but the grass MORE than cooperates, and is getting long.

Last year I had to finally weed-eat an acre of 3 foot grass. Talk about a small mower deck. Whupped me good. Get good hay out it though.

But, besides complaining on here, let's see, spring prep....gardening never seems to get put in until later, and seldom from sprouts. More of a 'toss it in the ground and see what happens' sort of thing. Though I DID have 6-7 foot, two season collard greens a year ago. Talk about nice, having greens all winter long. And taller than me. Yee haaa.

I love your little dividers. I'm trying to find dds articles to use them on, you know, trying to stay within relevance and all. But you haven't put any out with odd sandwiches or trains or other things like that. So...I'm about to just say the heck with it, and use them anyway. Especially the chicks and birds. I AM sort of a bird on here, icon-ically speaking, after all.
Well, I hope all is well in your corner of the world.

Someone else requested a divider with books so maybe I'll do you one and make a post with dividers to share. Sandwiches you say? Is that what would best describe your posts? Or any other suggestions?

Well....that was more of a joke than anything else, just well disguised as rather dorky ( :
Just a shout out to the fact my 'stuff' is not exactly easy to pigeonhole. And I've done some odd sandwiches lately. The Octobrät, The Faux Fowl Brusselball, then some Carved Cabbaage's, ShoeShots, Scientific Chickens, the list just goes on and on. Actually, the comment you sent before/after this one is more specific...so I'll head over there and finish this thought. Ooh, Continuational Comments. Maybe I'm starting something here...

Hey @donnadavisart, would you be interested in making a divider and a header image for me in this style? (the header image wouldn't be very complicated since I just want an outline that I can put text in myself) I run the @steemitbooks project (info about the project here)and I'd like to try to make our curation posts a little more fancy. I'd be willing to pay you 5 SBD for both. Let me know and I'll throw you the details if you're interested.

That sounds wonderful. I'll check out your @steemitbooks. Let me know what you'd like and I'll make a few, they're fun to make! I love drawing!

I love the drawing! Plants are such a nice way to liven up a house. I've always wanted to start an herb garden, that's on my "To Do Eventually" List.

Even just a pot of basil in the window from seed is worth it, you should do it.

This is great post . I like this thank you for sharing

I love seedlings and I have done that for a few years now. I will not be doing that this year sadly. I know LYndsay gets huge with it. I also keep loosing voting power. I think that its stupid. I should have power all the time. What kind of nonsense is that anyways. Happy Planting

Thank you. I know what you mean about voting power. I have been not able to be as attentive this past week with @winstonalden starting to work in the city again and my having to drive him to the train, then trying to live with one car now looking for a second car, so I am out so much more than usual and missing out on reading some of my favourite blogs!

yes..totally get it. my life is getting in the way of steemit too. not sure what will happen in the nice weather. prefer to be outside. xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60767.58
ETH 2376.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57