You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Do You Keep Track of All Those Tiles?

in #art6 years ago

I love seeing your process and hope one day to see in in action in real life :)

I would probably not number them either, as my first thought was that too, and then realized I'd probably lose interest half way through and think, as you did, just don't trip. Great advice but probably hard to follow through on, though have you ever tripped again?

I watched a great video on your site about the process and it was so fascinating. I even though of you yesterday when I was doing a silly little project in my garden. I was digging out a little square of earth to end a gravel terrace I am making. I wanted to find a way to end the lawn into the gravel without it getting everywhere, so I dug down and then went down to our beach and collected up rocks of varying sizes and spent a good couple of hours arranging them into patterns. I thought, "I could make an interesting pattern or design" but lost patience and managed to just sort of randomly sort them and then add a bit of concrete to set it. It was not very decorative, I can assure you. It did give me pause that I should try a bit one day with more intentional pattern.

You must have great patience to arrange all your hand cut tiles into the beautiful work you create. It truly demonstrates your genius in this process and the artistic skill with which you yield with such panache'.

When you move will all these tiles have to be wrapped individually to protect them, or are you planning to have it all completed prior to your move?

Good luck and I can't wait to see the next phase of it. The colour and glaze is so rich and full of depth.

Sort:  

Thank you @donnadavisart and thanks for the resteem :-)
what kind compliments here, I'm touched! Arranging rocks for your garden terrace is so fun and can be so beautiful in a random configuration (like nature drops rocks on the beach). Reminds me of this one time I did a project of square field tiles for this gorgeous bathroom and these squares were in about 15 different greens. My assistant and I brought them all to the site in boxes intending to lay out the green tiles on the floor in the most beautiful configuration of the greens we could conjur all in preparation for the tile setter to put them in place. So first we lay them out just straight out of the box randomly thinking we'd then move them around, but when we looked at the random it was perfect. We couldn't see one tile that we needed to move, lol! So much for thougthful planning and patterns being superior!

Anyway thanks for your support and friendship, I really look forward to meeting you in person, seeing studios, sharing ideas and learning from each other!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67