My lovely view in a Watercolour Study and Pastel Piece.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I am lucky to live by the sea.

I often, on a day like yesterday, sketch or make studies of my view. After a week of rain we were lucky with warm sun and the water was as still as glass.

I did this study with an imagined figure coming along the shore in black.

feb19toadhallviewpastelfigurestudy.jpg

Here was the view, calm sea, blue sky.

feb19view1.jpg

A goose placidly broke the surface otherwise it was smooth as a looking glass.

feb19view3.jpg

I did another study (sans imagined figure) in watercolour and pencil.

feb19toadhallview1watercolorstudy.jpg

And living on the sea, one is accostmed to the view changing with the weather which, on the sea in New England, has only to wait a few minutes or a day to get a new picture. Yesterday, the large boulders stuck in the harbour looked like this:

feb19view2.jpg

You could see for miles. Today, it has been been fog bound and grey.

feb19view6.jpg

I do love days like this, however. The view of our neighbours across the harbour just dissapears. One minute there houses sit plain as a picture:

feb19view1.jpg

Then the next, the very same view, is as if God or some mighty hand has wiped the page and smeared the background to blurry soft taupes and greys.

feb19view5.jpg

And on a day like today, one feels completely cut off in a magical dream world. The fog horns echo out across the water and the gulls and beach birds sound come as if spectral noises, no bodies attached.

Yes, I am lucky to live by the sea and to sketch and make studies. I could draw, and have drawn, the same spot hundreds of times because, as you see, it is never the same place twice.

I hope your day, wheter clear and cloudy, has some moments to sketch or read or just sit and listen to the sound of nothing and revel in it.

If you appreciate my work please feel free to upvote, resteem, and by all means comment.


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Wow this one's awesome too! Your style is so simplistic but works so well!!

Thanks, these are just studies so I tend to use more detail in my larger finished pieces.

so beautifull
upvote and visit my page my friend :)

So lovely; the sea is to magical to me. I can just feel the stories in your images.

Lucky you really..How I miss my life by the sea..Is it that I am getting old, but this atmosphere of peace is something I am wishing more and more..
Enjoy sun and sea @donnadavisart :)

How lucky to live near the sea, I really like the differences of images finally ... Rather colors on the images that are so changing from one to the other. Very nice idea of drawing for the first, I like this pure style and the colors are very well chosen. Living there must give you inspiration it's great.

Nice work Donna!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47