Creating a Hashtag: The #steemitletter

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I couldn't help but create a new image to accompany my #steemitletter

aug31thumbnail2.jpg

And of course the entire piece: "The Letter"
aug31letter.jpg

This week @sndbox at #TagTeamchallenge has asked us:

What makes a good hashtag? With this challenge, we're asking you to invent a brand new tag and incentivize others to use it! Hashtags (or categories) are a very important part of any Steem post. Tags help publishers assign specific themes to content and allow readers to discover that content more dynamically.

Now, I've had a good think on this all week. I considered my #steemitvillage idea, that I have briefly discussed awhlie back, where in I compared Steemit to a small village full of locals in comparison to the big cold hard city of Facebook. I felt that when on here I often felt like I was chatting over the hedge or giving a 'hiya' to a passer by from my front porch.

Steemit is more enganging, at least comparative to other platforms I use but, it seemed too broad and I gave it another think. What brought me to #steemitletter was my time on discord.

I belong to many Disocord channels and don't always have time to engage in all of them.

I've noticed on a few of them, that we are all missing one another by our time zones or just the business of this time of the year.

I began leaving little posts on there that had the feel of a post it note on the fridge. A quick, 'hi, how are you this week? I'm off now'. And it made me realize that a hashtag that has the feel of a note or a quick letter might be fun.

For those days you don't want or have time to post a large piece, a #steemitletter could go like this:

My Darlings,

How are you all this fine day?

I'm rather busy in the studio and my to-do list is piling up, but wanted to drop a quick line.

I hope you are enjoying your Summer.

We had a fine night last night, the weather cooled and we made a bonfire. The sea blew in cool breezes and enlivned the spark and crack of our driftwood fire.

We had cocktails, talked of our busy week, and dreamt of future plans.

The lull in conversation allowed the crickets and night sounds to make that wonderful late Summer symphony.
The garden is getting overgrown and the weeds are winning out, but they'll soon meet the best weed puller: Winter. I don't want to yet think of Winter.

Well, I shall close now and help you have a fine day, drop me a quick line and let me know how you are doing.

A sort of note left for a passing friend or a postcard feel to it. Short sweet but possibly collectively made. I was thinking, if we were to answer a specific #steemitletter, we could cut and paste their letter into our post and then respond to it. That way it'd be fun to see how many of us are commenting on one letter and then adding to that letter as well.

I wonder how long the thing could become after a few additions.

It could almost become a sort of 'art piece' created by us all in words. And of course we could insert pics and drawings, as I like to do in real letters anyway.

I suppose we could even tag one another as if that is us dropping a letter into their mailbox? What do you think?

  • Should we tag someone with the #steemitletter to say we are dropping the letter into their post box?
  • Or leave our #steemitletter post open to all, just for the fun of seeing how many others tag onto our letters and make it grow?

Now, I haven't a clue if anyone shall do this, but then again, do any of us? We shall see.

Well, I hope to 'hear from you soon' in #steemitletter form.

Sort:  

Really cool idea @donnadavisart. I like the idea of tagging someone in like you are putting it through their letterbox to read. I will make a #steemitletter post later tonight if I get time. Love it!

Ooh, yeah I'll look forward to it.

#steemitletter is a cool idea, and it is So YOU!!! I love the #steemitletters you leave me on my blogs!!!!!!

I know sometimes I just don't know when to stop writing ;)

very nice ! the idea is super lovely, and it would be cool to have correspondence under the tag @steemitletter !!! i think should leave #steemitletter open to all, specially in the beginning, so it can grow :D

the picture is beautiful ! lovely pose and the inking is so pretty <3

Yes I think I like that idea as well to see if it could become long and it'd be interesting to see it grow.

It's a good tag. I am OK, are you OK? Letter writing is an art that has completely disappeared from my life. Even E-mails are most often just simple written conversation.

I know I realized the other day that emails are even considered 'old school' today. Funny, that.

They are indeed - I have teenagers in the house to tell me that quite often.

So beautiful and romantic... I love it so much!

I belong to many Disocord channels and don't always have time to engage in all of them.

It's a bandwidth issue, isn't it? I don't have time to keep up with steemit/discord and have a flesh-n-blood life at the same time. Flesh-n-blood life wins every time.
steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica

That's why I often give over a portion of my day to being unplugged. Living a bit in the 3 d world is good for the spirit. :)

The drawing is very lovely, Donna. I really like the thought of a lady who sits beside a window, raptly reading her letter <3.          
           
Beautiful and heartwarming picture ^^.          
           
-upvoted-          

Thanks and give #steemitletter a try, you might like post a 'letter' to us all :)

I'm not sure if it is really definitive enough to be a hashtag, not sure. I guess we'll see. It was an interesting challenge that is for sure.

I do not why she reminded to Anne from Jane Austen Persuasion reading Captain Wentworth letter. I still write letters the old romantic way. And good idea

That's an amazing comparison, I LOVE Austen.

Me too, and the romance of vintage lettering

cool idea, though i don't fully understand how hashtags and tagging folks with their moniker works, as I am used to getting notified of someone's presence...but it is very hard for me to find time to use an actual computer! lol
but for this, you will have to continue our emails, and am eager to journey further back to postal correspondence!

Well, if you do a quick post one day in the form of a quick letter, i.e. Dear steemit how are you? I'm fine. Here's my day. gotta go. and tag it #steemitletter then your in the game...the game of just writing letters to anyone and tagging it with my hashtag ;)

oh, so that would be one of the tags. but how does one know if someone has tagged them personally (as when I say @donnadavisart )...how do you know someone has tagged you? what is the purpose of that sort of tagging? (pardon my ignorance)

Don't feel ignorant. I was unaware of it as well, For me I go to steemworld.org/@yourusername (meaning put in your name) and when it opens click on the thing that says 'mentions'.

Also, you have an iphone so there is a really cool ap for you phone that a lot of people have that let's you know. I forget what it is called, but @soyrosa knows what it is and I just tagged her, so @soyrosa, what is that ap you and @princessmewmew use on your iphones.

We'll see if that works :)

Steemify! :D Lol! Yes it works. Although I also use GINA bot but it's to be installed in Discord, Steemify can be downloaded on your iPhone. If you don't have an iPhone you can also download Partiko :-) Good luck!

Wow, that is fast! Thanks @soyrosa! Oh Partiko, is that the banana thing that Slothicorn is always on about?! I wanted to try that and might do a banana art or something. @reinhard-schmid banana phone video was HILARIOUS! If I'm talking about the right thing, if I'm not well...that's pretty normal too, always just a bit out of the loop. I'm like the eccentric auntie. :)

LOL! Wel @partiko is just an app that sort of 'feels' like a Facebook app and lets you read your feed and comment and upvote and gives points for all of that. And indeed @stellabelle introduced a banana program that she tied to @partiko but it's not an official connection, just her loving the app and wanting to add some banana fun on the very low energy/interaction Steemosphere :D

But yeah, both banana program and @partiko are very much worth looking into. As always: follow those things that speak to you and make something of YOU with it!

Thank you so much for mentioning us!

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool! thanks...I will look into that. I am desperately trying to be better about being on here and exploring more.

Love your tag!!! Will join in for sure!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56705.83
ETH 2400.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30