Another section of my current Singularity Painting inspired by Jung's Shandows and Are We Back Yet?

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Another snippet of my current painting

sept30thumbnail.jpg

A bit more:

sept30painting.jpg

"Everyone carries a shadow and the less it is embodied in the individual's conscious life, the blacker and denser it is."
-Jung

I intended to share the second image today, but as it is a vertical I knew it had to be cropped. When I cropped it for the "Steemit Chop" ,as I call it, to make it fit into the horizontal perimeters Steemit uses for it's thumbnails, I sort of liked it. It gave a false impression of whose shadow it was.

This fits with my own exploration of the Jungian 'dark side' subconscious.

In a very pared down idea of Jung and the shadow: the shadow represents our dark side or that to which we often attribute our dark leanings, but if we are to addess that dark side, we can indeed find positive in it.

For my part, in this series, I love the use of shadow as that dark side of humanity.

My beings, wandering the post Singularity world wondering what they are, have symbolism everywhere for them to recall their human pasts; only we are not sure they have yet fully realized it or come to see it as part of themselves.

I also love that the shadows, in a very obvious way, gives the 'story' of these paintings another narrative that has an almost theatre like quality.

Who is in the shadows? Who is casting the shadows? Are we the shadows of our old selves as human?

This is from my last Singularity piece and I shared it as a shadow.

In that piece the shadow played a dual role with his odd shape, reminiscent of plague doctors of old, giving one pause to consider is it the past or future.

Now this piece of which I am sharing the woman, owl, and shadow has other elements I have shared in the past.

I love to share my work in this surprise sort of way.

I like the idea of seeing just bits of the over all piece as I work on it. Like, as a child, holding your hands in front of your face, only peeping out cracks of our fingers to take in snippets of a view. Perhaps to hide the fear of what goes bump in the night, or simply to leave out moments of a scene giving it more drama by only seeing bits of it. At least I often did that as a child.

Well, I could go on and heaven knows I usually do, but I was cautious to post today anything other than a simple photograph. However, seeing other artists, such as the talented @gric and the ever prolific @veryspider and @scrawly (and far too many to mention all) still posting daily art, I figured I'd better just dive right back into it!

I haven't for a moment pretended to know what is going on with the Hard Fork

In fact I don't pretend to know what a hard fork even is or what is meant by it! I only know that the place I loved to visit daily and had become the corner stone of my own daily work calendar in studio and life suddenly was gone or at least changed from how it was.

They do say the one constant in Life is Change.

But, I came to look upon Steemit as a sort of foundation and then it crumbled a bit, so I'm still not certain if I am meant to even use my votes. But, my mana (whatever that might be) has charged and my voting is almost at 100% so today I will, after this post and with trepidation venture out to visit all my favourites and try to dish out little votes as best I can.

I've also heard that we can only make 10 votes a day if we are not a whale? Or maybe I misunderstood, which is highly possible and probable.

I have called Steemit a small town compared to Facebook's large city and boy has it seemed that way of late.

The gossiping over the fence and in back alleys of late have run the gambit from the hardfork being our salvation to the ruination of our lives! Much like a small town, the word gets out quick and it goes through countless iterations before it returns to your ears, in a new form.

Well, I haven't a clue what I am meant to do, but here we go: I have shared my art I am working on, as is usual for me, and I wrote a bit, which I am like to do, and now I am off (with coffee in hand) to visit all of you. If I don't make it to you today, it might simply be some virtual wall built up to keep minnows such as me from nibbling at your posts :)

Happy Steeming (whatever that might presently mean).

Sort:  

I always love your ar you are so talented and this is a fabulous piece

I think the hardfork went badly and a lot of lessons were learnt but I do think for the long term it will be a good thing

Thank you so much @tattoodjay.

I hope it makes things better, the hard fork, I am happy to have sbd again :)

Ohh yes getting SBD is a bonus for me as well :)

Absolutely brilliant. Extremely fine artistic work exploring the shadow as expounded by Jung.
Brilliant combination of art and philosophy.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't know either what that all means my dear...feeling a bit like you wrote.. ;-) I don't know what to think

Love the picture you have shared today, so very impressive ! ^_^

Thanks @barbara-orenya only I worked on it today, this is the section I was working on, I've been doing this piece for a couple of months actually.

It felt to do a proper art share post again.

Hans Christian Andersen wrote a terrible story about a shadow that takes over the life of its shadowcaster. I remember the bad, bad feeling it gave me as a child. Not only an evil story, but told in an evil, humorous, grownup besserwisser way. Sometimes I long back for those direct reactions to art... and sometimes I actually have them, like when I the other day watched the first two episodes of Fassbinder's Alexanderplatz.

I love/loved Anderson tales. One of my favourites is the Tinderbox. I think I used to draw the dog with the 'eyes as big as saucers' a lot when I was young.

I still like a bit of humour in my work but the twin to humour is fear, I think.

I'm glad you like it :)

Wow, I looked up that series and it was shown here in 2007 so I am going to see if I can find a copy of that series.

Hitchcock never made horror without humour - they go well together.

As for Alexanderplatz it is the magnum opus of Fassbinder and I never really saw that many of his films, but this friend of mine is very determined in changing that.

I love this piece. The shadow which Jung spoke of is often on my mind. And I can say that, in addressing it, I have found a great amount of meaning and strength. The harder you work to push it back, the stronger it grows. But the thing which so many fail to realize, is that it's strength is still Yours.

And it's quite willing to share, delighted even. It makes wonderful friend, believe it or not. <3

Yes, Freud's idea of the shadow self is much more irrevisably dark, whilst Jung's view was more hopeful in getting to evaluate your dark side allows us to own it and to control it more. It's more about introspection that i like.

I love this painting and post @donnadavisart

Especially the way you illustrate so clearly the inspiration behind this painting and the allusion to a psychological muse:

This fits with my own exploration of the Jungian 'dark side' subconscious.
In a very pared down idea of Jung and the shadow: the shadow represents our dark side or that to which we often attribute our dark leanings, but if we are to addess that dark side, we can indeed find positive in it.

I'm also a big student/fan of Jung and his psychological ideas and world-view. It resonates far more with me than anything Freud ever wrote. I have noticed this is quite often the case with artists and writers though and it has made me think that his interpretation of the subconscious is simply a more accurate reflection of the creative persons inner-world.

P.s. I think the HF20 drama is pretty much over! I would just start going about steem-y business as usual :-)

Oh I hope so, about Steemit HF and thanks for dropping by, I saw your comment on slack :)

I'm glad you like my piece. I actually shared more of this same painting (still in progress) early and probably should have shared those bits in this post as well, but it'll be more fun to reveal it all when I show the final piece finished!

amazing like always Donna <3 i love the way you paint

Thank you so much @adelepazani. Are you going to do #inktober this year?

You're a very talented artist :) These are really...dark. And so, interesting, appealing, at least to me.
I do not know why I am not following you (I think I was seeing posts of yours resteemed by @winstonalden, so I assumed I was following you as well)....anyhow, solved now.

I love the combination of psychology and well, talent in these images.

I wasn't sure why I wasn't following you either as I thought I was.

@winstonalden bought your book, I haven't read it yet, but will do when I've the time!

Very nice painting. Amazing colour! Really impressed with this! adore this, love your style my friend donnadavisart.

Thank you @ykdesign. I shred it on weku too and saw you are on there :) How do you like it there? Now that we have steem back I might still post, but I hope it's okay to share similar posts at both, I'm curious to see where it will go.

Very amazing paintings! I love the colors ^.^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62781.37
ETH 2461.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64