A robot sketch for a painting during power outage

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Singularity android sketched into my view

march4robotviewsketch1.jpg

Here we are day 3 of no power and internet and very slow phone data. Having been using some of our technology but whilst hooked to cables running about the floors is a sort of surreal process.

Here we are in our isolated house with winds and lapping waves but the tranquil noise punctuated by the loud constant growel of a diesel powered generator. The constant white noise of our technological stasis had me thinking of the singularity of man and machine joined and what odd existence that would be, particulary with internet down and power failures.

Looking at our view with mechanical noises made me dream up a mech figure part human lost in nature; dreaming of her own contradiction

Ever since I did my robot figure for a contest I've been dreaming of the singularity creature as a faerie sort of figure and wanting her to be in almost 19th century style paintings of figures in bucolic settings. So it was easy to sketch my view and consider my recurring dream android.

Well, here goes, trying to post again on my phone with very slow data. There will be more to come with this sketch

If you like my work please feel free to upvote, resteem, and by all means comment. I feel so cut off from all of you now.

Sort:  

Is the woman in the illustration a metaphor of you upset with the storm?
Stay warm, you, your husband and the quails!

She is a product of my considering the future of man and machine whilst being trapped in a bucolic and lovely setting made annoying by engine noise and inconvienance. :)

I've been offline this weekend too, so this is the first I'm seeing of your current condition. Hope you all stay warm and safe, spring is coming soon! It must be. Nice to see you're still able to sketch and make the best of things. Take care.

It's been so bad. But we just now got internet back for the first time but still no power, so let's hope the generartor holds!

I do love the work and makes me curious how coloring in 19th century will turn out. And I feel your pain - I run out of electricity here and there too...mostly cuz of weather conditions and people are in no rush to put it back up.

Well, I mean 19th century in the sense that my last painting and many of my oils are done in a traditional vein. We just got internet back (still no power just generator) so hoping I can do the watercolour study of it next.

Hope your quails are good and warm. I was really looking forward to that storm Thursday evening but it passed just south of us. Friday's are harder when you planned on a weather event to cancel the day. Looks like a nice lady for a bicentennial man

My quail and chickens are doing really well. Luckily I placed them very close to the house in a sheltered area and it's paid off with this odd Winter we have been having.

I never thought of bicentennial man, but you are so right. Now I am going to watch that movie once we get power back, haven't seen it in years.

Very cool drawing. I hope you get Power back on soon. We went through this in 2014 with a Ice storm in Georgia. Our power was out for five days, so I can sympathise with you. Stay warm and safe !

Thank you. We still have no power but just got internet!

The composition looks lovely already :) hope to see a finished piece. Good luck with power!

Thank you and no power as of yet, just internet and generator but so nice to have high speed internet back instead of phone data!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63196.13
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45