A black and white break from a busy day

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Looking at some of my Black and White art on this warm Summer day.

aug15bwthumbnail.jpg

Full size piece:
april11drawing.jpg

Sitting this afternoon at my usual spot on the terrace enjoying my coffee.

aug15coffee.jpg

A bit exhausted from writing.

My recent exciting news of being accepted into the latest intake of @sndbox for cohort 2 has been a blessing. However, as part of being allowed to participate in their wonderful collective, we are asked to create montly assingments for their cryptomagazine. The writing this month was about us and how we came to crypto. Such contemplative self reflection can take a bit out of you.

After spending the past few days writing and revising and considering, I felt today (as I just finished under the wire) I needed to sit and contemplate. And when I need to clear my head and my palette with my art I always turn to black and white. So, here I am, turning to black and white in the form of looking over some of my pieces already done.

Of course animals always come to mind. Here are a few of my animal pieces done at coffee shops with, of course, coffee included.

aug15bw3.jpg

And when at the coffee shops sketching I also played with various witch and cat characters, sometimes including coffee and tea, sometimes not.

aug15bw2.jpg

I also found these two images I made this past year for Virginia Woolf's birthday; always a favourite of mine
aug15bw1.jpg

And of course, more recently, my Singularity creatures have been finding their way into my black and white days.
aug15bw4.jpg

And though I am enjoying the clear headed actions of two toned drawings, I am also taking time to walk down to our beach to sit and relax.
aug15beach.jpg

Happily content in the sounds of the sea and the quiet. A brief break before back to work, my studio calling me.

I hope you all find a moment to clear your heads and take a break today before continuing on with the work that fills your days.

If you like my work by all means upvote, resteem, and comment. I always appreciate comments.


And check out my other posts.


Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png

asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Im taking a moment to gather myself right now by enjoying your artwork. Thank you.

And wow that beach front view, lovely.

I never take it for granted and always take a bit of it with me each day :)

beautiful work it reminds me of Yin and Yang that you applied to the human body

I like your style. I enjoy this how you beautifully play with top light and top shadow.

Thank you and good eye!

You may want to use the #artzone tag for your art posts. I have noticed from @gric ( I am a huge fan) that there's a small curation group that searches that tag and upvotes art stuff :)

Thanks for the headsup!

yeah, they are good - I like that tag too.

I love the idea you bring up about cleansing the palette. I'm going to bring that into my artist life. It can be hard switching between mediums as an artist and creative! Also I really love the cats and witch ones with coffee :) Great post thank youuuu!

My head is full of dust, from weeding the neighbor's blueburry patch. But otherwise, is clear of all else. (I THINK that's good ( :
I could sit and listen to your waves all day long. Nice place to hang about and think, or not think at all. The video looks almost like a hand-painted image. I used to do that when paper and film were "in". So fun doing the oil paints on BW photos.
I've always loved your black and white arts. Especiallly the 1930's versions. The two go so well together, the starkness and line of BW and the clothes and absolutel classic lines of the decoratives of the time. As we both know, we could both be back there in a heartbeat, if other parts of the 'times' weren't so hard. Maybe we could be rich, when we step off the time machine. That might make it better. Well, hope your Saturday is a peachy one.

Every one of your posts is like an illustrated novel. I love both your visual and your written language, and how it takes us away into your beautiful world of imagination.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I like this one a lot, Donna. Very elegant, trippy, and surrealistic. Nice one :).


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Oh I love this one, Donna ! The black and white contrast nicely and your style is very elegant <3 I love their bird masks and their body language... looks like they are really enjoying their talk !! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65927.86
ETH 3481.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66