You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who knew working with acid could be fun? (Acid etching a knife.)

in #art7 years ago

Nice how to! The end result looks great.
I think the most shocking thing I learned from your post was that RadioShack was still in business. I thought those had gone the way of Blockbuster.

Sort:  

Hahaha. I did this a few months ago and forgot all about it, and decided I wanted to share it with you guys! So, maybe they're already gone by now, who knows! Either way, they're heading that way. We used to have 3-4 of them near my house, now it's just the 1 and it seems like most have shut down though. I think in another year or so they'll probably all be gone for sure.

Also, thank you :) I really would like to do a full tutorial with step by step photo's, but getting a non junk knife to work with, the Ferric Chloride and everything else would be pretty pricey for me right now. I'll do it eventually though for sure!

I've done acid etching for printing pictures....never on knives. Pretty cool.

This was I believe my 3rd attempt? I did one as a gift for my sisters birthday a few years ago, and then one for myself. It's a fun process, you just have to be really careful in handling the acid is all which I'm sure you know about if you've dealt with it before. You can really do some cool patterns and designs with knives using it, the ones I did for myself and my sister were really cool looking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60480.09
ETH 2363.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65