Watercolor gesture painting is harder than i thought [NSFW]

in #art7 years ago

Hello Steemians,

It's been a while since my first post.While I was thinking of posts to write, Steemit got a fresh new look!So this will be my first post on the new Steemit page.

I found a community center that does various workshops.In November they had a watercolor workshop.This week the subject was to paint a live model.
We started with short gesture poses to warm up.First two poses were 3 minute poses.I wasn't sure how to start painting.
It is tricky to paint in a short amount of time.By the time you are figuring out what the overall feeling the pose is, 2 minutes are already passing.

p
3 minute poses

The trick is, just let your hand flow.No worries.You may be thinking about the proportions but that's not really the point here.The point of gesture drawing is to get the overall feeling of the pose in quick strokes.
We move on to the 5 minute poses.I feel more confident painting now.This is why warm-ups are great.Just like you warm-up before exercising,you warm-up before drawing so your lines are less stiff.

p

p
5 minute poses

Before we move on to the one hour final pose,we do a 10 minute pose.

p
10 minute pose

We move on to the one hour pose.Because it is longer, we were allowed to do a light pencil sketch of the body so we can paint on it.I carefully drew the body for a good 20 minute then started painting with a light orange color.After making sure I got the light areas, I moved on to purple for shading.
I could see my drawing practices were paying off.I struggled less when painting tricky areas like the hands and feet.Before going to a life drawing session,I wanted to be fully prepared to paint or draw the body in the class,because life drawing sessions are very rare in my area.So I made sure I put my best effort in it.
Switching from orange to purple,purple to orange, we reached the last minutes.I did the finishing touches with the purple shades and the painting was done.

p
one hour pose

I really liked is as this was my first piece from a live nude model.There may be proportional errors but I will try my best and become better at life drawing.

There is another life drawing class at the same place next week.This time we are free to use any medium.I'm very excited.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47