Firefly/Serenity/Steampunk - I'm an aspiring graphic artist and decided to make an awesome T-shirt this morning

in #art7 years ago

Hey, all. First post here, so I hope I'm doing this right, and I hope a fellow Firefly/Serenity fanatic finds this and loves it.

So, I'm an aspiring graphic artist. Self-taught in Photoshop and trying to learn Illustrator. Got bored this morning and decided to throw together this piece that really gives me some nostalgia for Firefly. What do you guys think about it? Any tips/tricks/recommendations from anyone else doing graphic design, and especially T-shirt design?

Would you like to see more work from me? Any particular requests? I'd love to get inspiration from you all for more designs. Let me know what you think! :)

Sort:  

This looks awesome! Following you for sure.

I'm going to need more tee designs, and am planning on doing a design contest soon too that you might find interesting. :-)

Awesome! I'd definitely be interested. Will follow so I can keep an eye out. I'm thinking about maybe creating a bunch of designs and just releasing them to the community as licensed but free to use/modify even for commercial use. Just brainstorming ideas to get my designs out there.

Cool!

That would be very generous of you to do that. The other thing you could do is put them up for sale on somewhere like RedBubble (my favourite), Threadless, or SpreadShirt.

Here's a RedBubble store: https://www.redbubble.com/people/cryptocanuck
And here's an example of a product page: https://www.redbubble.com/people/cryptocanuck/works/27062362-steem-logo-no-text

I use RedBubble as an overflow kinda thing because they have items I can't get for my own stores. (Although my own stores are cheaper for t-shirts etc).

Threadless creates artist shops for you, but the only problem with these is that your products are not searchable on the main site (unless you enter them into contests and they get printed).

Here's an example of one of those stores: https://transhuman.threadless.com/

Spreadshirt is kind of a mixture of the 2 above, some designs get put into their main store so they're searchable, but you can also have a shop too.

I haven't currently got any stores with them, but they look pretty good.

The other thing you could do is set up your own store using Wordpress and WooCommerce like I have here: https://cryptocanuck.com

(store is currently being re-done, so might not look 100% yet).

You might know some of this already, but hopefully that's been helpful! :-)

Thanks for the info! I've heard of Redbubble, but never actually set up an account. I always thought Threadless was just a company that made their own shirts. I had no idea you could submit your own designs, but I guess I never really looked. I did sign up for Amazon Merch a few months ago and I'm hoping to get accepted because Amazon is just huge. But in the meantime I'm just trying to build up my portfolio and not sure what direction I eventually want to take. :)

No problem!

Yeah RedBubble is probably the best of the bunch, they pay you on the 15th of the month (sometimes up to the 18th, depending on when the day falls) for all commissions earned on items that have shipped (They give you a manufacturing invoice to let you know).

Threadless takes about 6 weeks to get paid I think (can't remember how long exactly, it might even be 60 days) so there's that to consider too.

Amazon merch would be awesome too I imagine. I've applied also but not heard anything from them yet.

Hopefully we both get accepted on there soon! :-D

Congratulations @dizzylizzy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @dizzylizzy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Sweet! Upvoted, following, and appreciated as a fellow artist!

Nice job DizzyLizzy. I found the best way to study Illustrator is to create a "project" (even another T-shirt) and then look online through the myriad of tutorials posted there to help with each stage of what you are trying to achieve. Post more. I have followed and upvoted

Tracked you back here from my page to see what you're up to and boy am I glad I did! I'm a big Firefly/Serenity fan from way back and that is a gorram kickass shirt!

... now I'm embarrassed to ask. Is that Kaylee or Saffron? 😳

This post has a very unique ingenuity. I think it's legendary. I've never seen before. @dizzylizzy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50