"Stationary Starship Handbook" Original Art and Breakdown by Dirk Hooper

in #art7 years ago

catcrop.jpg

I usually don’t explain my art. Terry Gilliam said that it’s an artist’s job to ask questions and the viewer’s job to provide answers.

But in this case, the story is part of the art.

catlines.jpg

I recently had a dream that I was visiting Boston and was called to visit a regular home in the suburbs. I went into the house and discovered it was a “stationary spaceship.” The house didn’t move. It moved the universe around it.

So, you pick where you want to go and you step out on a new world.

catcolor.jpg

For some reason I was supposed the be the new captain of the ship. The heart of the ship had a cat as an avatar, and she handed me a book about how to operate the ship… wrapped in yarn.

Prints of this piece and more are available here: https://www.redbubble.com/people/dirkhooper/works/28773765-stationary-starship-handbook-by-dirk-hooper

The completed and compiled version of this piece is below. What do you think?

stationarystarshiphandbook.jpg



All images are copyright 2018 by Dirk Hooper.

If you enjoyed this article, please give me a comment, an upvote, or a resteem! I'll share more of what you love the most.

Follow me: @DirkHooper

Sort:  

great writing sir, arts are first class.

Thank you very much!

@dirkhooper, that fact that you drew my black kitty, albeit on a diet, made me stop and look. I love that you went ahead and explained the meaning behind your art. My husband and I would love a house that's a portal to a bunch of new adventures!

I'd love that house too! I'm thinking about writing a story on that.

Thank you for the comment, and for letting me draw your little kitty cat!

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

Kucing hitam

Resteem bot Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 4500+ followers from two different account.@stoneboy and @vimal-gautam.

Delegate STEEM POWER 10-25-50-100-200-500-1000 Through v2.steemconncet.

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 10.39% Upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80