"Psychedelic Burn" Concept Art by Dirk Hooper

in #art5 years ago

CharacterConcept.png

In the early 90s, when I got serious about doing comics, I created an 8-Page comic story called "Psychedelic Burn."

The following years I had a few other comic stories published with friends and eventually focused on photography and writing.

About four years ago I returned to drawing, inking, and painting, but this time I moved my complete process to digital. That's been an interesting journey (and not always so easy... never stop drawing folks), and a hell of a lot of fun for me. It's allowed me to slowly find my new style.

So, I'm toying around with returning to "Psychedelic Burn" for another 8-Page story. While I wasn't doing the story, I was still thinking about it all that time and I have a lot more to say about the characters and world I created long ago.

This character concept is a big deal to me because I feel like I've been building up to this for the past few years. The whole process and style are what I've been figuring out. I'm finally at a place where I may be ready to return to sequential art.

KatyKruzConcep4web.jpg

KatyKruzConceptInk4web.jpg

KatyKruzConceptPencils4web.jpg

Sort:  

Looks great, I like the style & quality of the linework. It’s almost like art nouveau meets a linocut print and they make a comic together. Would love to see it in some storytelling action!

You have a great eye! Those are two things I could easily say to describe the style that I'm doing right now.

I'm just at the beginning stages of this, but that's the style that I plan on using for this project, so stay tuned here, or at my website www.dirkhooper.com.

And thank you very much for the kind and insightful comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70