🎨 Artwork: Linocut, Etching, Digital // Morphing strange stuff // Gandhi & War 🎨

in #art7 years ago

Yesterday I uploaded an artwork we did almost 10 years ago for our second album.

It's Gandhi morphing into an atomic bomb.
Pretty nice, right?

It reminded me of the time I started doing graphic stuff, and did a lot of prints and etchings, and other stuff like that.

One more artwork I did in that style is morphing Gandhi with nationalistic Serbian leader called Draža Mihajlović, who was, well, let's say, an absolute contradiction to everything Ghandi stood for.
01.jpg

It was made in linocut.
02.jpg
(this one was done by turning the linoleum upside down (facing down) and printing under high pressure)


These types of thematic combinations are always nice, and have their own narrative.


Or this artwork which depicts a Koala bear eating a penguin for our third album called: "Joy devours its own children"

I remember doing a lot of prints during my time on the academy, and it was really fun doing them, altho' my humoristic approach wasn't broadly accepted.

After some time I did a series of etches that revolved around bars and coffee places - it's the place where I spent most of my time during that period.

03.jpg
This one was done live in the place, I was sitting, drinking coffee and etching weirdly in the corner.

04 matko.jpg
This one is my best friend thinking about communism while smoking a cigarette.
05 leda.jpg
Unfortunately I couldn't find all of the prints, but I photographed the matrix (the metal board in which the etching is done) of this one.

Anyways, it was really fun doing that sort of stuff, and the best thing is that I kept the original matrix, so I can print it on in the future - after I become famous - and die...
38868_103923932997713_7844431_n.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this,
Cheers!

Sort:  

t can mean the difference between an action-packed piece of art and a solemn, contemplative one. But how do you make a composition convey the mood you want, and what is it that makes a composition successful?, I like...

don't know if your comment is finished, but as I view it, every piece of art is in it's core solemn and contemplative because despite the medium and the process there is one point where everything stops and where the artist feels that the work depicts the atmosphere / mood that is needed in order to transfer the message. If someone wants to show the physical action in his painting (let's say) - what's the moment that makes him stop demonstrating it? The physical limitation, the limitation of the medium or the canvas, the saturation of the composition? just that fact can say a lot more than we think. And in the end only those works that can tell a story of the process through just one moment in an image are the ones that are powerful, and"successful". Just my thoughts on the subject.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61248.96
ETH 2375.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55