STREET ART #36 – More street art from Buenos Aires, Argentina

in #art5 years ago

DSC_01.jpg

Buenos Aires is home to the best street art in Latin America, so I have read.  My journey to Argentina and Chile this year, started and ended in Buenos Aires. The first few days was spend in the district of Palermo. My plan on the return was to stay in the district of San Telmo and then do a guided walking tour of both San Telmo and La Boca. Unfortunalt I did not managed to do that. But here are some more of what I saw in Palermo.



Only a few years back most of the graffiti in Buenos Aires were found in Palermo. The start of most artistic work were found in this neighborhood, but has spread all over the city. It is not only the work of local artists you will see here. Many well known international street artists come to Buenos Aires, which gives the city a wide range of art by world class artists.



Not only is Palermo well covered with art, but it might also be the best place to spend time. It is a trendy area with lots of restaurants, bars, cafees and shops.



Palermo seems loaded with artistic expresions. When walking around I found that you just need to walk up any street or walk around a corner and you will see art presented in many forms and just about everywhere.



Buenos Aires is one of those cities where graffiti is legal. The street art scene has changed over the years. It started out from writings of simple words and stencils to become bigger and more sophisticated. Time has changed since the dictatorship in the 70s and 80s when the slogans painted was more political oriented.



I read somewhere that Buenos Aires has introduced  an international street art festival with fewer restrictions than in many other capitals in the world. I don't have any details about this or whether it's an annual event, when it is etc.


This is a nice piece, but unfortunately the sun was in the way!

La Boca is also one of the districts that is very popular with street artists. Since I did't make this year, I will have to make it a priority next time.


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next street art. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest street art post, check out :
STREET ART #35 – Graffiti in the historical old town of Flekkefjord, Norway


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap -34.603619 lat -58.432131 long STREET ART #36 – More street art from Buenos Aires, Argentina d3scr)


Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Food, Article, Poetry

Sort:  

With all this street-art Buenos Aires seems to be perfect destination... And I heard food is good, especially the meat.
Nice examples of street-art, I like the collage of the kangofish.

It is, ufortunately I was not well on my return. I did plan to go to a couple of other areas with great murals. You are right! The best meat is some of the best I have ever tasted!

Look around San Telmo to find amazing murals.

Thanks :) That was my plan on the return, but got sick. I even stayed in a hotel in San Telmo...

beautiful! indeed very good! thank you for sharing!

Thank you :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=digi-me
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=street-art-36-more-street-art-from-buenos-aires-argentina


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Daily Travel Digest #539.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Thank you!

How long are you staying here?

I am already back in Norway, but I love Buenos Aires. Next time I go I will stay longer. A few days, certainly was't enough!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42