Making a Woodcut Print With Modern Tools

in #art7 years ago

Woodcut prints have been made for hundreds of years, and is still used by artists today. A woodcut print is made by carving the surface of a wooden block, and then use it as a print block loaded with ink. Traditionally, gouges were used to make the carving, but I thought it would be cool to combine this old technique with some modern tools.

I'm using a relatively cheap CNC machine and free software to carve the image from a SVG file. (Chek out the video below the images).

wc5.jpg

wc6.jpg

wc2.jpg

wc1.jpg

wc4.jpg

Video

Albrecht Dürer (1471-1528) was a true master of this technique.

The four horsemen of the Apocalypse by Albrecht Dürer - Year: 1497

Dürer_Apocalypse_4.jpg

Sort:  

love it.... I am contemplating buy a cnc router right now...... it would be great for stuff like this and make guitar parts....

WOW! I love this. I had a book filled with woodcut illustrations that blew my mind. Fascinating to see a modern implementation of such and old technique.

If I sent you a drawing sometime, would you be willing to make a woodcut of it? I'm so interested to see what that would be like

Wow great work :D

The final result looks great

This post has received a 2.35 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @dieterschneider.

after your video, I can't even imagine how Albrecht Dürer did his amazing carving thing without any modern equipment

I liked this post, it's an amazing art, I really like it

Yes I am loving all of that. I would like to see more of the cnc and how to get one and set it up if possible? , I want one. I have tried a homemade copy router but it was not accurate enough. I also bought a massive pantograph but I need to set it up and get 3 phase supply. I will have to check out Albrecht Dürer now.
Thanks

I can't think of Albrecht Durer without thinking of this:

Carving with hand is the real deal plus one needs to be a painter or illustrator. Im a conservative when it comes to applying techniques. It needs to be done in the original way. ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63237.60
ETH 2647.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81