Painting portraits is hard.. moreso in watercolors

in #art6 years ago

I've been learning how to paint since March 2016. While I've seen a lot of progress since I started, it amazes me how difficult it can be to learn to draw and paint accurately. My main goal here is to document and reflect on learning how to draw and paint. Think of me as your art classmate.. you know..the annoying one that asks all the questions. So here we go:

sophies.jpg

In this post I want to focus on portraiture. One of the most important aspects of painting a successful portrait is selecting a good reference image. What makes a good reference image you ask? Well, I'm trying to figure that out, and maybe I'll put up another post about this in the future, but clear shadows and highlights help, I hear.

For my third ever attempt at a portrait painting, I chose this headshot of singer Sophie-Ellis Bextor as a reference:

sophie.jpg

from (https://www.theplace2.ru/photos/Sophie-Ellis-Bextor-md602/pic-21060.html)

Here's the steps I followed for this project:

1. Lightly drawing the outlines of major shapes on the face AND outlines of major shadow shapes, using a grid to measure things correctly.

By the end of step 1, I had this:

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_d24.jpg

Some notes: I did a ton of comparative measuring, trying to find the right angles and even using a ruler to measure distances when things looked "off). I found it extremely difficult to get things "right". At this point I am hoping that I will improve in drawing accurately in time, if I keep working on it.

2 . Painting!

I added several washes of watercolor, going from lighter values to progressively darker tones. I wish I had captured more in-progress photos, but here's what I have:
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_d47.jpg

so far so good (or so I thought).. Until I got feedback from several people that the measurements are off! And of course .. the measurements were off. I took my painting and the original into photo-editing to see where I was off. A bit of nip and tuck, and here we are...
8LpvuZ6KS1eiw32rJdeYgw_thumb_d50.jpg

The thing is, watercolor is unforgiving. Once color is down, it is next to impossible to pull that color out of the paper. And in watercolor, you can only ever paint darker over lighter color since the medium is transparent. Watercolor is also my favorite medium, so far, so I don't plan to give it up anytime soon. The glow and transparent quality really makes for lovely paintings that cannot be replicated by other media.

At least I learned a lot.

When you draw from observation, measure five times for every time you make a stroke on your paper.

All we can all do, is take what we learn to the next venture, that has to be enough sometimes.

Sort:  

Using watercolors is probably the hardest way to do this. I would recommend to use pencil and once you are good at it, move on to charcoal. Practicing with Bargue drawings would give you both a good reference as well as growing challenges.

Thanks for your comment! Ah yes, the Bargue plates. I have worked on these a bit here and there. Would probably benefit from doing it some more. I completely agree about the difficulties of watercolor, but then again it's so enjoyable using the medium that I find it hard to resist. I believe it is important to balance "fun time" art making with study time in the end, so I do foresee some graphite studies in my future.

Congratulations @dgdraws! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dgdraws! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dgdraws! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dgdraws! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing post with us!

Have you heard about Partiko? It’s a really convenient mobile app for Steem! With Partiko, you can easily see what’s going on in the Steem community, make posts and comments (no beneficiary cut forever!), and always stayed connected with your followers via push notification!

Partiko also rewards you with Partiko Points (3000 Partiko Point bonus when you first use it!), and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem tokens. You can earn Partiko Points easily by making posts and comments using Partiko.

We also noticed that your Steem Power is low. We will be very happy to delegate 15 Steem Power to you once you have made a post using Partiko! With more Steem Power, you can make more posts and comments, and earn more rewards!

If that all sounds interesting, you can:

Thank you so much for reading this message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63