Nina's High School Sketchbook, Vol 8

in #art7 years ago

For this week's Sunday Artday I'm sharing some more from my 2005 archives - as I said in last week's post, this was a very complicated year for me.

It was my last year of high school before gearing up to move out of country to university in Canada, which meant saying a lot of goodbyes. Goodbye to my teachers and friends of course, but also to my zoo career, which had been a strong presence in my life for the previous 8 years. What does a broke and artsy teenager do to say goodbye? Draw everyone pictures, naturally!

Cloud Cat - For Jessie

Cloud Cat - For Jessie
Pen and Ink
This was a present for one of my supervisors at the zoo - who's favourite animal to work with was a Bobcat.

Butterfly for my History Teacher

Butterfly for my History Teacher
Ink, Coloured Pencil
I can't remember why I chose a butterfly for my history teacher, but this was for him!

SF Garter Snakes - For Joe

SF Garter Snakes - For Joe
Ink, Coloured Pencil
Another zoo one here - the head of the department (and now I believe he's the head of a major zoo department in San Francisco) gets his favourite snake ever, the rare San Francisco Garter Snake.

Watch Where You Stick That Pencil

Watch Where You Stick That Pencil
Ink, Coloured Pencil
The running joke in English class - for the entire four years that I had him as a teacher - was that he'd threaten to shove a pencil in his eye whenever major english grammatical infractions or bad arguments were made. Which naturally was about every 10 minutes or so. C'mon, it's high school.

Stink Happens

Stink Happens
Ink, Coloured Pencil
Here's the last zoo gift I'm going to share - One of my direct supervisors at the zoo loved skunks, and talking about smelly things. She was particularly passionate about poo, which I think is something that only a zookeeper or biologist would ever find fascinating to talk about, but ANYWAY I got the idea for this little gifty for her.

I've got one more batch of 2005 for you next week, which will talk a little bit more about the complicatedness of my last bit of high school - but also start off my first year of university! As usual, I sincerely hope that you get a kick out of my art :D

DEROSNEC

WebsiteYoutubeFacebookTwitterInstagramSpotifySoundcloudBandcampMusicoinSociety6Threadless

Art, Music, Movies, Media
Join the Uncensored

Sort:  

These are great. You are very talented. The butterfly one is probably my favorite. This was a nice post. I hope the move to Canada ended up being a good time in your life. -@bozz

Thanks so much for the nice comments! Glad you enjoyed them :D

Yes Canada ended up being a very productive move, lol! Got my degree, married a canadian, had a kid... met some great mentors in my industry and got my footing. I have lots of nice things to say about the place! :D

Awesome! Glad it all worked out!

You got SNEKKED!
Because I love your post!

You got snekked is my curation project!
I aim to find good content, share a happy moment and some visibility. Your post got my upvote and I will share a link to your post in my Monday post!

You can find me on Discord or steemit.chat if you like to connect!
You can also join the you got Snekked project on discord! Here is the link to join us: https://discord.gg/nMEwmTx

Best wishes
Snekky

AWESOME!! Thanks snekky! :D My corn snake will be so proud of me :3

Beautiful art! You are very talented!

thanks very much!

Stink happens! My favorite. Poor fly. Ies.

Very thoughtful pictures, I like them. Now I wonder what the complicated high school is. I think I blocked out my high school memories....

haha thank you! Yeah there's a big story which I'll talk about a little bit next week along with some other pictures that will elaborate on the the more dramatic complicated-ness....

Great stuff! That skunk is so cute haha

Thanks so much for stopping by, glad you like 'em! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61744.65
ETH 2678.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59