Progress of a painting - "This Infinite Struggle"

in #art7 years ago




The Wheels of Time

...some of my paintings stay unfinished longer than others. Sometimes years pass by until a painting finds its way to completion. "This infinite Struggle" was one of these 'slow burners'.

I think I started this canvas about 4 years ago and spend just a few days on it until I got stuck somehow and left it on my studio walls for the next years. It already had a nice composition of abstract forms and patterns but I couldn't find inspiration to complete it. Then one day I came across a phot of two sparrows, fighting with each other over a crumb of bread. I instantly loved the idea of 'war & dispute' happening in nature also. So I had to make a painting out of these fighting birds and this old blue canvas matched just perfectly.

I always trust the process and work very patiently on every piece. Sometimes when you don't know how to go on, It's maybe good to let a painting sit for a while until it all comes together naturally.

Patience is a virtue ;-)





The painting looked like this for a long time, until...




I found these two fighting birds which got me excited




Detail of the finished piece




"This Infinite Struggle" | acrylic on canvas | 50cm x 90cm | 2014




 

"Peace is not an absence of war, it is a virtue, a state of mind, a disposition for benevolence, confidence, justice."

baruch spinoza 





Upvoting & resteeming makes me happy and keeps my art alive :-)

For more information about my art please visit denniskonstantin.com



Sort:  

Very nice work, this is lovely. A pleasure to look at.

Oh thanks...glad you like it 😉

Your painting is so intricate and still so clear. It really is a beautiful piece.

Oh thank you ;-)

Wonderful artwork, friend! Dynamic and streaming!

Abgefahren gut - Dein Stil hat was besonderes !!!
die Farbcombo ist klasse :-)
resteemd

Danke schön <3!

Love your work! I know the feeling, I've had paintings hanging on my wall for years that I always felt were unfinished, then one day I just take it down and finish it.

Right...that happens sometimes 🙂 what are you painting?

Skulls, bones, monsters. The occasional puppy portrait.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87