Progress of a painting - "BEYOND OMEGA" - Becoming one with nature...

in #art6 years ago




Coming Home...

Today I would like to share the progress of a very special painting with you. "Beyond Omega" is maybe my most well-known image and also one of my most personal ones.

This piece tries to depict an important enlightenment experience I had in the Arizona desert when I was about 30 years old. I was hiking with some friends and we tried out a shamanic technique where you wander silently and concentrate your gaze at the horizon. After about two hours of walking I had this crazy sensation only this painting can really describe. I was literally becoming 'one' with my surrounding in an instant. But as quickly as it came, the sensation vanished again. It was a very short experience, but it had an impact on me which I can still feel today.

That experience was one of the main reasons I became a painter. I wanted to visualize these 'happenings' which can only hardly be put into words...




The Underpainting




...a closeup




...filling in the details




...getting closer to the final image




One of three "Ouroboros" flying around the figure




Detail of the finished piece I




Detail of the finished piece II




"Beyond Omega" | acrylic & oil on canvas | 120cm x 200cm




 

“The aim is to balance the terror of being alive with the wonder of being alive.”

carlos castaneda 





Upvoting & resteeming makes me happy and keeps my art alive :-)

For more information about my art please visit denniskonstantin.com



Sort:  

Hi. Dat "Hi". This most profound one... as if you were born again...
I'm following you now :)

Cool nice to have you 😉

Thanks for sharing your process and component shots. Love this one!
Upvoted.

No Problem...a pleasure for me ;-)

Wooo! Such a crazy painting! I loved

nice post man
keep it up!

Thank you; that is wonderful!

What a powerful painting. Amazing work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05