On the Quest for Meaning - A Life for Art

in #art7 years ago (edited)




What made me become a painter and changed my worldview...

I was very young when I made my first acquaintance with art. My dad, a surrealist painter, had his studio in our flat and among his crazy and colourful paintings, I made my first baby steps. So from an early age on, I was at home in a world of the fantastic and surreal. 

But although I was raised in such a creative environment, I started drawing rather late, at about the age of 16. My early drawings represented a quest for meaning in a seemingly meaningless world. Re-occurring themes of dark landscapes populated by stick beings were channelled onto paper, a world full of questions about a deeper sense of our existence. 


"Selfpoortrait" | 50cm x 70cm | drawing on paper | 1999



However the drawing “The Homecoming” marks a turning point in my art.  At the age of 21, when I was living in Arcosanti, Arizona, I had an unbelievable realistic dream. People came in droves out of dark cityscapes. Caravans of beings seeking salvation, blazed a trail towards a huge door. I was holding that portal open to welcome those beings and to lead them to the other side of the door. 

A sense of an all encompassing bliss awaited us beyond that door. Salvation beckoned to the empty souls. Since that day when I put this idea down to paper, my art made a complete 180degree turn. I was now no longer lost, groping through the darkness searching for the meaning of our existence. Somehow I started to perceive all the positive energy and wild structures of the universe. I made my step towards the light.


"The Homecoming" | 35cm x 50cm | collage on paper | 2001



Despite my love for the arts, I have chosen to study interior architecture instead. When I look back to my works in university, I realize that all my designs were actually 3-dimensional paintings. Often it is only in hindsight you realise the true value of your choices. If I had gone to art school instead, my artwork would have been very likely pushed into a completely different direction. A great painter always has a unique technique and a strong personal vision. This is developed in life and not at art school...that's what I think. 


"Subway Station in Karlsruhe" | design concept | 2004



For the technical part, I think much can be learned through pure experimentation. Mostly technique evolves through one's process. 

I had the good fortune to gain important insights into an old masters technique through working for Prof. Ernst Fuchs in France. I learnt much about painting and the life of an artist while I was there. It was at that time that I came to the conclusion that I would rather be a painter instead of an architect. 

The thought of working in a nine to five job seemed as senseless to me as my earlier nightmares of non-existence that I painted. The faith to follow my impulses was always stronger than the urge for security and conformity. 


"The inescapable capturing of dark space through light" | 50cm x 90cm | acrylics on canvas | 2010



When we break out of habitual patterns and listen to our inner voice, we divine a hidden knowledge that empowers us to change ourselves and then ultimately the world around us. 

Always follow your heart and dreams...that is the only thing that matters!



"The seventh day" | 50cm x 70cm | acrylics & oil on canvas | 2014




Sort:  

Congratulations @denniskonstantin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Awesome! I only started to paint when I was 31, 3 years later it was my full time career. People like you sharing their passions was a big part of how I got to where I am. I agree art school usually isn;t where the artists who resonate with me come from, although there are a few. Amanda Sage is one of theartists I follow and she studied with Ernst Fuchs in Austria I believe!

I know her yes...had some exhibitions with sweet Amanda 🙂

Thank you so much for sharing! This was really touching :')

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62410.74
ETH 2445.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67