BEYOND THE VISIBLE - An interview with the visionary artist Dennis Konstantin Bax

in #art7 years ago



"Landscape IV" | acrylics on canvas | 50cm x 60cm | 2011



This is an interview between the two artists Dennis Konstantin Bax and Daniel Mirante about Dennis's art and his psychedelic quest for meaning...



Daniel:   

"Dennis, congratulations on this new body of work you have shared with the world through your website and prints. It 'sings the body electric'. Your work, which you describe as quantum realism, purports to depict the "constant transformation of matter", to "make visible the inner Structure of the Object, its underlying form principle... and maybe most important its connection to its surrounding." 

I am very inspired by this artistic mission. One thing I am interested in is how you arrive at the insight to be able to depict things in this way ?"  


Dennis:   

Well, to answer this question, I guess I have start at the beginning.  My first interest in art came up at the same time my teenage mind felt a strong discomfort with the Design, society offers for the conception of our reality. 

I felt something missing in our society, the truth behind the obvious, and more the “not wanting to find out” of the general puplic. I think that is how all the stories of us modern “Seekers” start, that we find out that there is so much hidden knowledge waiting for us out there , knowledge  which has been lost in our modern culture.  Once I took that path, things were revealed to me step by step, reading Carlos Castanedas Books and having had a very strong natural out-of body experience, led my art more into a spiritual direction, as before it was very dark, pinpointing at the stupidity of war, hatred and consumption. 




"The seventh day" | acrylics on canvas | 50cm x 70cm | 2014



Once a being is on a spiritual path, one understands that the dark is a fundamental part of the whole, and one rather looks at himself, than wanting to change the world. My journey led me to the visionary architecture project Arcosanti in Arizona where I worked when I was an architecture student. At that time I was fascinated with the Theories of Quantum Mechanics and the Superstrings. I felt that these theories where almost able to describe the Holy in a scientific way.  The same time I was at Arcosanti, a spiritual writer from SanFrancisco stayed at the guest houses, we became very close friends and one night he introduced me to infinity. 

It was my encounter with the true “Abstract”, under the influence of a psychedelic plant, which made the scales fell from my eyes.  Everything started to make sense, because I could see and feel the holy, infinity or however you may call the “whole”, with my own eyes and body. The reason I am so fascinated with the Superstring Theory, is the fact, that it describes space as a vibrating field. There are no differences out there, matter doesn’t exist. 

Imagine that every point in space has the possibility to vibrate in unlimited patterns. A certain vibration is a certain molecule, water for example – when it turns from liquid to gas – space slightly changes the way it vibrates. Space underlies constant change, solidity is an illusion. This conception in my mind gets clearer and more logic every day, right now I am struggling to pin it down to canvas, to find the right technique to translate it to a 2-dimensional surface.  




"Destruction Overdrive" | acrylics on canvas | 50cm x 90cm | 2015



Daniel: 

Thank you for that response. I think that period of struggle and disillusionment is a very common and neccesary passage in spiritual awakening in our culture. Sometimes I feel though that some people get trapped in the disillusionment, the deconstruction, and become full of irony, and fail to find the 'redemptive vision' that you describe as being 'the scales falling' from your eyes that night in Arizona. So many cultures use these plants as rites of passage to true adulthood. 

But what do you think is the nature of that urge, that requirement to 'pin it down to canvas' ? What, in other words, does the process of art do for you ?  


Dennis:   

One of the most wonderful things about art, is the fact, that it is nothing fixed. It is something in the air, u can use to create whatever you can get a hold of with your mind.

With Art we try to imitate pieces of reality, be it an idea of the construction of reality, emotions or a nice tree we saw yesterday. Art is like giving new life to things which already exist, only filtered by the artists mind.  But I am learning right now, that this process of filtering “out”, is the essential lesson an artist has to learn. To pick things out of unlimited possibilities, arrange them in a new way, to give new meaning to them, and their own autonomy. 




"She's like the wind" | acrylics on canvas | 52cm x 53cm | 2016



A good example is when I began with my abstract paintings. I started with a set of lines going over the canvas, then a second layer of lines corresponding somehow to the first one….5 more layers and I had a chaotic arrangement of lines interfering. Out of this chaos I saw a form crystallizing, and I went on concentrating on that form, bringing it to life with more lines, shadows and highlights. The new form is still a part of the chaotic, but visible, because only “parts” of the chaos are highlighted. I felt it to be an attempt, almost scientific, to imitate the way space works. 

The Stringtheory underlines that every point in space can vibrate in any form it likes, once the information of that particular form is in that point in space. So information and form is one and the same. I could talk for hours on these topics, but therefore I have my figurative work, which tells the story of a human being realizing that all around him, including himself, is one big vibratory bliss. 

To tell that story I need the knowledge of form I can only gain by this scientific research I do with my abstract art.  




"Sidewinder Beta & Gamma" | acrylics on canvas | 24cm x 46cm | 2016



Daniel:   

I can detect a lot of correlations between what you are talking about, and the ancient Tao. What I enjoy about your work is the affirmation that it is possible for humans to move from fragmentation into the Tao, the continuous state of flux from which observable phenomena, seemingly solid objects emanate. 

One benefit I see of humans learning to see in systems rather than fragments is to heal the problems that are born of dualistic and fragmentary mindsets, such as war and environmental degradation, which arise bottom up from the seemingly innocuous behaviour patterns of societies. Art to demonstrate and attest to such possibilites is very important since people have become quite blunt to words. 

What are your goals for the future ?  




"The Birdcage Tryptich" | acrylics on canvas | 2016


Dennis:   

One great goal is to work more on the union of the insights of modern science, with the spiritual knowledge, humankind has gained over thousands of years. The union and the inner coherence of all things that exist, is not only the central theme in eastern religions, but also the fundamental worldview of modern physics. By trying to understand both, they are able to inspire and give more meaning to each other – which will result, I think, in a much better understanding of the ‘fullness’ of reality, which will include the opening of new territories of our imagination. Once our global imagination can reach new realms, society might be able to transcend itself, and step forward into a more meaningful and aware present.  



For more information about Dennis's art please visit denniskonstantin.com



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63606.08
ETH 2603.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83