An extremely easy trick to get 3d stroke in photoshop.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Well, most of you must heard about this, in case you don't, is something really dumb to do but is absolutely cool, here's how:vickyfurani.jpg
You can try with soft brushes, as I said before, I only use soft brushes in extremely necessary cases like shading an entire section, backgrounds, ambient occlusion, and others, I never use soft brushes for details, but that dependends on the style you want to get.

Blending options 2.jpg
Right click on the layer that you want the effect > Blending Options > Bevel & Emboss. it is important that the stroke is isolated (by this I mean that the stroke should not occupy too much area, since the effect is only visible in the outline of each stroke).

blending options 3.jpg
Yes, I know, that screenshot is in Spanish; Sorry about that, Blending options should be in the same place. But come on guys, it's 2018... almost everyone here knows about Blending options right?

blending options 4.jpg
In the section "Structure" select Technique > Chisel Hard, try to adjust the values to get the effect you want and that's it!

blending 5.jpg

If you are wondering how strokes looks like this? You can download thousand of brushes on internet and try until you are satisfied with the result. Soon I will be posting the set of brushes that I used in this illustration.

blending 6.jpg

vickyfurani2.jpg

HAVE A GOOD ONE and sorry for my horrendous english. :D

Sort:  

Cool trick! A mix of both arts, digital that looks like traditional. I'd like to try this trick eventually~

Try it! and if it doesn't work, just turn off those layers style, it won't compromise your artwork at all

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52