Tracey Emin - Do You Like her Work?

in #art6 years ago (edited)

original_04ce88d509fe404fa9986650bab0b459.jpg

'My Bed' 1998, by Tracey Emin

Wikipedia

This artwork was the product of Tracey Emin staying in bed not eating and only drinking alcohol for two days.

Disgusting, isn't it?

It was displayed at the Tate Britain gallery, in London. As you can see, it had a screwed up sheet on the bed. Around the bed, there was a used tampon, empty vodka bottles, newspapers, a half-squeezed tube of K-Y Jelly, dirty tissues, cigarette debris, and underwear stained with menstrual blood.

Yukeeee!

Tracey Emin was born in 1963.

She works with a variety of media including drawing, painting, photography and appliqué.

Tracey Emin had her first solo exhibition in America in 1990. She called the exhibition 'Every Part of Me's Bleeding'.

She is also remembered in the UK for her behaviour on a live TV show called ' The Death of Painting' when she was drunk and swore repeatedly.

In these articles about artists I usually say I want to show you some of my favourite artworks but I don't like Emin's work. See what you think.


Video of 'Everyone I Have Ever Slept With 1963–1995' by Tracey Emin

theEYE

Tracey exhibited this tent at Charles Saatchi's Sensation exhibition held at the Royal Academy in London.

Do you like it?

TE_LMG_2016_Inst_01_hr3.jpg

'Stone Love", 2016, by Tracey Emin

Tracey Emin Sudio

You can see here that Tracey Emin is versatile.

TE4788.1.jpg

'You Loved Me Like A Distant Star', 2012, Neon by Tracey Emin

Tracey Emin Studio

This simple neon is one of many by Tracey Emin.

Here is a link to her Studio in case you would like to see more of her work:

http://www.traceyeminstudio.com/homepage/

Have you visited the Steemit Art Centre? There are some cool artworks there to view. Here is the link to follow:

https://steemit.com/artstorm/@deemarshall/6k6rrw-steemit-art-centre-friday-s-update

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

Wow, I see a very tortured soul, in which I feel very sad for. I feel she’s looking for real love, and she hasn’t found it. Looking at her photograph I can see in her face the pain that is there. She said in her video that she had felt crazy at one time, I truly believe she was, and perhaps still is. Working at the pharmacy for years, and knowing many mentally ill people in my life, I could almost guarantee that she is. As far as liking her art, she is able to show, through her art the feelings deep within her, that takes courage to show that kind of pain exposing it to the world. I think she’s reaching out to the wrong people who continually hurt her, I can’t say that her art is good or bad, it means something. I will say, I wouldn’t buy any of it, I’d just be thinking about her sadness and pain. Thanks for sharing @deemarshall, very interesting friend. What do you think?

I definitely agree that she has mental issues. She doesn't see herself as others see her. I feel she enjoys shocking people. I suppose I think her art is vulgar. I think many people could produce art like hers but they wouldn't want to because it's ugly. I read an interview with Tracey when I was researching this article when she said as long as her art made money she didn't care what it was like. I can see that attitude in her artwork.

Thank you for commenting and your upvote :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58695.71
ETH 2633.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49