Lucian Freud - A Talented Portrait Painter

in #art6 years ago (edited)

lucian-freud-sleeping-girl-1979-1980.jpeg

'Sleeping Girl", 1980, by Lucian Freud

DantéBéa

The above painting by Lucian Freud is my favourite. I'd like to see it in real life from a distance. I like that it's just a girl so I am not looking for a likeness.

Lucian Freud was a British portrait painter. He painted people in other poses too.

He lived from 1922 to 2011. He took to painting portraits in the 1950s.

Freud used models to do his paintings and, as it took some time for him to paint a portrait, these sessions were no fun for his models.

A lot of the portraits he painted in his 60-year career were of his family and friends as he wasn't a very sociable person.

Now I will show you some more of Lucian Freud's artwork.

P1050125.jpg

'David Hockney', 2003, by Lucien Freud

BBC

I love the way Freud creates a likeness with these impressionistic brush strokes. Freud painted 'warts and all', which is a true talent to me.

Queen_Elizabeth_II_1.jpg

'Portrait of the Queen', 2001, by Lucian Freud

everypainterpaintshimself.com

I think the Queen was very kind to have her portrait painted by Lucian Freud, haha.

lucian-freud-a-young-painter.jpg

'A Young Painter', Self-portrait by Lucian Freud

Curiator

Of all the self-portraits by Lucian Freud, I like this one best. I especially like the way he painted his hair.

I leave you with this photo of Lucian Freud at work:

Have you visited the Steemit Art Centre? There are lots of cool artworks to see there. Follow this link:

https://steemit.com/artstorm/@deemarshall/5k9zu2-steemit-art-centre-wednesday-s-update

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

Wasn’t his art different? It was interesting how he drew portraits with big chunks of color, nothing was really blended together and smoothed out. And look how wonderful it turned out. The painting of the lady lying on the bed, that was more of a fully blended painting, it looked different from the rest, I liked that one to. Thanks for sharing @deemarshall, fun to look at and read as usual friend ❣️

I'm so happy you enjoyed it. Yes, his style seemed to change as he got older. I suppose everyone's does.

Thank you for commenting and voting. I always appreciate that from you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46