Gustav Klimt - The Great Symbolist Artist

in #art6 years ago

'The Three Ages of Woman, Mother and Child' by Gustav Klimt

athenaposters.ca

I love this painting because it is so tender. To me, it shows a mother's love in all its fineness.

Gustav Klimt lived from 1862 to 1918. He was a symbolist artist who liked to create paintings and murals.

Probably, his most famous artwork is 'The Kiss' shown below. He was a symbolist painter whose work portrayed human suffering to sexual liberation. He painted nudes in close contact with each other and that raised a few eyebrows during his lifetime.

Klimt liked to dress up in kaftans while he painted but he saw himself as an ordinary man. He was a dedicated artist who painted from morning till night. He never got married but had 14 kids by different women.

Now I will show you some of my favourite Gustav Klimt artworks.

'The Kiss' by Gustav Klimt

EuroPosters.eu

The colour gold strikes me first when I look at 'The Kiss'. I love the symbolism in the bed cover. The guy has strong rectangles but the girl has soft circles. It's absolute magic!

'Life and Death' by Gustav Klimt

The Eclectic Light Company

There are so many emotions symbolized in this artwork that it rather overwhelms me. I don't understand the symbolism of the death image but the life side really gets under my skin. There are so many people woven into the picture.

'Bauerngarten' by Gustav Klimt

South China Morning Post

Here is something quite different showing how versatile Klimt was. It seems kind of impressionistic to me. The detail is incredible.

I will leave you with this photo of Klimt with his cat:

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

Another amazing artists, I would have loved to talk to him to see what was in his head when painted anything. You could see he loved patterns and vivid color, wasn’t his paintings magnificent! Thank you @deemarshall for sharing the a little bit of the artwork and lives of these famous artists friend❣️And bless you

Yes, he was into pattern in a big way. Thank you for commenting and your upvote :)

Yeah, his art is great :) Thank you so much for your comment and upvoting my post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59417.60
ETH 2672.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44