Painting Progress Update: Coming Into Focus

in #art6 years ago

f6ffbccb-2a9b-4b28-a94e-475a9c5fa7b6.jpeg

f525236a-86af-4e4a-bd1e-36554ae99219.jpeg


This area has been bothering me the most, so I’ve been putting a lot of effort into describing the details as clearly as possible. This requires my fully understanding what it is I’m seeing in the photo. As the details become more refined, tiny problems with the drawing arise that weren’t obvious earlier. Some details are just too much. Others are absolutely necessary in order to properly define the forms without disturbing the viewer’s sense of the natural order of things. A building must touch the ground. Well, not so much nowadays! These buildings do make it difficult since they defy norms. Even the old ones have modern embellishments that look odd.

What do you think?


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

@dbennett, i am not an artist. But i enjoyed art very much and I always admired artist can transform a photo, place or object into painting. Your this painting really beautiful, you have painted the picture with zoom in. yes, it really look like zoom in a photo. It was amazing on how you can painted it just refer to the photo. You really talented and thank you for sharing.

Thank you so much! Someday I hope to paint from life, but I'm too slow.

@dbennett, you definitely can do it. Slow doesn't matter, as long as the end result is good. By looking at your painting, I knew you can do it to paint from life.

Thanks for the encouragement! It’s a long struggle but well worth it.

howdy there dbennett! I think that this painting is so accurate that at first glance I thought it was a photograph! The buildings look perfect to me.

I assume that you specialize in city paintings?

I get that a lot! It has a little ways to go. I don't specialize in anything, but I am often drawn to urban landscapes. I'm also very drawn to boats, harbor scenes, and anything else I see!

well that is a wonderful variety to paint! thanks for the explanation.

You say it's a progress, right? So I guess that it's not yet finished? To me it looks pretty much finished but you as the artist may have another opinion.

I like the detail and the accuracy. Everything is somehow blending together into a lovely master piece. I also like those people walking there.

Are you inspired by the city where you live or by a photograph or something completely different?

If this is only a progress photo then I can't wait to see the final result and compare it with this one :)

Thank you for sharing!

Thanks! This is inspired by a photo I took.

The painting looks great. I actually like the color combination. The buildings look realistic though the car on the right side looks different. I am not sure but maybe it's just my eyes seeing the car look a little rough finish.

Is this your imagination or do you have a photo source? How big is the canvass you used on this one?

By the way, what is this reflection on the window of the building on the left? It looks like our Jollibee mascot. 😃

Thanks! Yes, that car needs work. I did a little work on it this morning, that you can probably see in today's post. The top edge of the car and the bright spot weren't well defined. I hope it looks better! This is an 18x24 canvas, and it's painted from a photograph I took. Thanks again!

Oh, and the window is just a reflection of the lights on the other side of the street! Cute mascot!

I went and see your new post. Indeed, it looks much better. I thought the painting is done but I just noted on the other post that is not yet so I am sure it will be much better when completed.

Yes, we have a cute kid-loving and kid-lovable mascot. 😃

You are welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

You are welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

This painting is just amazing and well made. Love all the details you added, it doesn't look like a busy street.

is it a product of your imagination or did you go paint it on "site"?

Thank you! This is based on a photo I took.

Oh, that's great. I would really love to see the photo because this (the second photo) looks just so real...

I have seen it! It looks like the photo, really. It's amazing how you were able to capture those details. Even the shiny thing there, and the reflection. Do you plan on making the (gravels?) Appear on your painting too, or are you done with it?

Thanks! I do plan on painting the gravel. The more details, the more real it will look. The eyes need candy. 😄

Sure sure, the more real it will look, Lol! Well, yeah even the eyes do need that sweetness. Lol!

Hi dbennett,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

That's awesome! Thank you!

Amazing details. And I really like how you've added the reflections in the neighbouring building 🙂

Thanks! I love how reflections can amplify the light in a scene.

It really seems to me an excellent painting, especially if you have made it yourself. Would you say that the painting is set in the present, or does it represent an exact period in the past?

I do not know the reason, but in my head that scenario is not present at this moment, but somewhere in the not so distant past.

Dude you need to go back to 1985. Hahaha! JK.
I'm a fan of your movie reviews btw :)

I guess so, just that I'm a little short of plutonium for now ...And thanks for that, friend.

Thanks! It’s from a photo I took last winter. Painting it myself.

Being honest, I have no artistic eye. Many things seem nice to me and many other works of art, I do not understand their meaning. But this painting seems quite realistic, from my point of view. I like the contrast of modern and old buildings, although I do not know if that is what you are trying to convey and the details are well done. Maybe if you need a little more, adjust some dimensions, but I'm nobody to correct the artist. I think it's great, keep it up.

Thank you. I’m not trying to convey anything but the raw image and the beauty of the colors and composition. So glad you like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84