Modern Tech Meets Traditional ArtssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

c.jpg

When I'm painting, I will often take photos of my paintings and bring them into the computer for some digital analysis. Sometimes I will overlay the image onto the original photo to see how far off my drawing is, and other times I will just use a tool to line things up. Here, I'm drawing lines to show you what I'm doing, and how far off the lines are. The eye is smart. It will know when things are off, even if you don't realize it.

a.jpg

It takes quite a bit of patience to get the lines right. First, you have to very carefully paint the line. But, you also have to watch the edge of the line you're creating. You don't want to leave paint at the edge of the line, forming a ridge. You'll never get rid of that ridge if it dries, especially if you find you need to move the line. Keep things flat. It helps to lightly brush the ridge either into the line or into the area of the same color.

b.jpg

The eye will notice slight differences, but it will also notice optical illusions. If you have an adjacent line intersecting with another, that line can make the first line look bent. It's important to be sure the line is not bent, but also that the optical illusion is not interfering with the line. What you see is more important than what is there, so be sure that things "look" right, even if they aren't. Sounds counter-intuitive, but it can really help. If you hang a painting on your wall and it's level, but the whole room isn't, it will still look off. So pay attention to how things feel, as well as how they look.

d.jpg

I find exercises like this to be very useful. Now, I can use these images instead of holding up a ruler to the painting. That's not convenient, as you can easily smudge wet paint, and the ruler will get in the way and cause shadows. Sometimes technology and traditional arts work great together!

I hope you enjoy my artwork, and get something out of my posts. Follow me if you want to see more!

Sort:  

Hello @dbennett, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Cool! Thanks!

What you see is more important than what is there

Truer words were never spoken.

The attention to detail in these paintings is staggering.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! I’m hoping to find a gallery that thinks so.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55