Haiku Corner: Myers and Chang Restaurant, Boston

in #art6 years ago (edited)

20292992_1500192673367242_2597709958844627463_n.jpg

This is a painting I did from a photograph my friend posted online. I love the composition, the blending of shapes and colors, and the dimension created by the mirrored walls. And, my friend is reflected in the mirror, taking the photo.

I experimented a little when doing this one. Instead of canvas, I used a 9x12” sheet of masonite. I gessoed it and sanded it down to a fine finish. Then, I used traditional sketching techniques with thinned burnt umber paint, and continued with oils. I tried using walnut oil as a medium to help spread the paint. I found that it wasn't very helpful for me, but that it gave the stool cushions a nice texture. These masonite boards absorb a lot of the oils, making it hard to paint if you spread your paints around. They dry up quickly, much like acrylics.

My favorite part of this painting is the rocks glass on the bar. Is it a gin and tonic? Mojito? Great, now I want a mojito!

What do you think of this one?

Sort:  

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

You've got a really great, subtle style. It deserves more recognition so I'm re-steeming it! I'm always really impressed when people can render things so evocatively with physical media.

That’s so cool! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32